Top Ten Best/Worst Series Enders

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday post actually sent me on a bit of a hunt through my Goodreads’ read list, because I couldn’t come up with actual series finales that I’d read! This was confirmed via Goodreads; I have lots of in-progress series, but very few that I’ve read all the way through. I should really do something to remedy that!

Anyway, here are my choices! Some of them may be a bit off the wall, because, like I said, I actually haven’t read a lot of the popular series finales, like Delirium or Twilight, which I’m sure will be on a lot of lists this week. But here are the ones I HAVE read, sorted into two lists: those I liked a lot, and those I didn’t like as much.

ttt50

lastolympiantrickstersqueensweetfarthingunbreakable
amberspyglassmysteriousbenedictironside

All of these books soundly wrapped up the series, usually with a lot of action and drama and excitement. Some of them broke my heart (The Amber Spyglass, The Sweet Far Thing), while the rest left me with a smile on my face or at least a feeling of satisfaction. Definitely two thumbs up!

ttt502

goddessinheritancelastbattledeathlyhallows

I personally found the entire Goddess Test trilogy to be a disappointment, but The Goddess Inheritance took the cake. The main character was mopey and stupid and self-sacrificing (even when she shouldn’t have been, and should have trusted her husband), and I just really didn’t like the way things ended. I can sum up my unhappiness with The Last Battle with one word: Susan.  And before anyone jumps all over me, let me state that I liked Deathly Hallows a lot; what I didn’t like was the ending, as in the epilogue, which I found unnecessary and not nearly as well-written as the rest of the book. It was almost like she’d written it years before and just tacked it on the end to say officially “I’m done!” If I could get a copy of the book without those extra pages, I would be perfectly content.

So that’s what I chose this week! What did you pick? Have you read any of these same series enders? If so, what did YOU think of them? Please link me in the comments!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Top Ten Best/Worst Series Enders

  1. I haven’t read Unbreakable yet, but now I’m excited to. And I had Deathly Hallows on my best list this week haha.

  2. I didn’t think about The Amber Spyglass, it was my first encounter with a bittersweet ending to a series xD I have a feeling Percy Jackson is going to end up on many people’s lists this week (it certainly made it on mine!) ;)

    My TTT

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    I was swithering whether to put Deathly Hallows on my best or worst, because like you, I hated the epilogue. I tried to look past that for my list and put it on the best! I also really need to work on finishing more series.

  4. I feel so dodgy this week; I haven’t read any of these endings :O There are some series on here that I haven’t even started – all the shame!

  5. Jessica says:

    I’ve seen Harry Potter on a lot of best and a lot of worst lists! I left it off of mine altogether because I’ve never been able to make up my mind how I completely feel about it. Great list!

  6. Brittany says:

    See, I can agree with you on the HP epilogue! THAT’S the word I was looking for… Or words. Not as well-written. I liked seeing the future and I totally appreciate the idea of wrapping it up with an epilogue but it just felt too cheesy!

    • Merin says:

      It really felt like she’d written the epilogue well before DH, and just tacked it on the end. It was ridiculous, but then again, I’m not really a fan of cutesy endings.

  7. Books, Tea & Me says:

    I have mixed feelings about The Sweet Far Thing. While I absolutely loved everything in this book, I was horrified by Kartik’s ending. I just…I can’t get over that at all!

  8. Quinn says:

    I love the Amber Spyglass, too. That ending broke my heart as well, and yet it was so good! I loved the ending to HP, though. I had no problem with the epilgoue, and really liked that it came back to Platform 9 3/4, and the kids feelings about Hogwarts.

  9. Molli says:

    Re: Goddess Test series – YES. I liked some things about it but the final book drove me INSANE. So much whining from Kate, so much “round and round” in terms of plot.

    Re: HP. I liked a lot about DH except the body count and the epilogue. I LOATHED that epilogue with some serious vitriol. I also want a copy sans epilogue. It was so cutesy and overdone and gross.

  10. Pingback: October in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

