Top Ten Books I Was “Forced” to Read

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is the Top Ten Books I Was “Forced” to Read. All of these were required reading books, whether for high school, college or grad school; as someone getting her Master’s in Library Science with a focus in Youth Services, I was inundated with fabulous books!

howlsmovingcastle

I LOVED this book. Howl! Sophie! Temper Tantrums! Magical doors! Fairy Tale fun with a twist! Yes, please!

graveyardbook

I’d owned this book for a LONG time prior to finally reading it for a Grad School course. I definitely shouldn’t have waited!

audreywaitThis book was SO much fun! It made me a fan of anything and everything Robin Benway writes, although I still need to read one of her previous releases.

akatawitchThis book was really different in a fabulous way. I loved the setting, the explanation of the magic, and the main character, Sunny. I can’t wait for the sequel to finally be written!

impossibleAnother one I simply adored. Faeries! Strong female characters! A solid romance! LOVE!

bornconfusedBorn Confused was a lot of fun and a wonderful coming of age and finding yourself type of read. Definitely recommend it!

dustcityThis one was dark and gritty and a fun twist on your usual fairy tale retelling. I don’t hear too many folks talking about it, so definitely wanted to feature it on this week’s TTT!

iamthemessengerAfter loving The Book Thief, I was really excited Zusak’s other book. While completely different, it certainly didn’t disappoint!

astepfromheavenThis book hit me in ALL the feels. It’s a Printz winner, but I never really hear much about it!

And then my favorite Required Reading title from high school:

catch22

Anyone else read this one? I remember how very sarcastic and tongue in cheek it was. I read it in my Senior Composition course and just absolutely LOVED it.

So there are my ten for this week! What did you choose? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Top Ten Books I Was “Forced” to Read

  1. Great list! I was thinking about reading The Graveyard Book but my friend actually said it was a bore. I might get it anyways. :)

    My TTT: http://fangirlsoffiction.blogspot.com/2013/10/ttt-1015-top-ten-books-elizabeth-was.html

  2. I recently read Howl’s Moving Castle and OMG, I <3 it so much xD Also loved The Graveyard Book and enjoyed Catch-22 :)

    My TTT

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I loved Howl’s Moving Castle! And what course did you take that you got to read The Graveyard Book for it?! I’m definitely seeing some books I’m going to check out after looking at this list! (The cover for Akita Witch is amazing and Dust City had me at dark gritty fairy tale retelling)

  4. ChrissiReads says:

    I want to read so many of the books on your list so it’s good to know that some of them are your favourite! Great list!

  5. Books, Tea & Me says:

    I also LOVED The Graveyard Book and Impossible! Great picks :)

  6. I have yet to start Gaiman, but I am excited to. His novels sound and look really good :)
    Happy reading!

    My TTT

  7. Thank you for bringing Dust City to my attention! Totally going on my TBR. :)

  8. emziixgx says:

    Really need to get hold of I Am The Messenger, it’s the only book on your list I have heard of!

  9. kimberlyfaye says:

    I’ve actually not read anything on this list! Audrey, Wait! looks fantastic and I Am the Messenger has been on my TBR forever. Of course, I still need to read The Book Thief…

    My TTT.

  10. Jessica says:

    I’ve never heard of Akata Witch but I love the cover and it sounds really cool! I’ll definitely be checking it out!

  11. I actually haven’t read any of the books on your list. Thanks for bringing them to my attention. Great list.
    Here is My Top Ten Tuesday
    Xoxo. Daisel @ Owl Always Be Reading

  12. Quinn says:

    I didn’t have to read any of thsoe books for school, and I went to library school, too. I really should read Howl’s Moving Castle. And Audrey Wait has been on my list FOREVER. I loved Also Known As, so I don’t know why I’m dragging my feet with Audrey.

  13. BrigitteWhoa says:

    I didn’t read any of these in school or otherwise. I would love to read Howl’s Moving Castle, though.

    Here’s mine!!

  14. Jessica says:

    Oh, I LOVE Howl’s Moving Castle! I haven’t read it in awhile, I really need to re-read it! :)

  15. M says:

    Great list! Dust City has piqued my interest, so I’ll definitely be checking it out!

  16. Chris says:

    I really liked The Graveyard Book. I didn’t think unwound till about 3/4 of the way through.

    Just stopping by to say hi. Haven’t been around your blog in awhile.

  17. Vilia says:

    The sheer bureaucratic absurdity of Catch 22 makes it an absolute classic. Here’s my TTT

  18. I’ve heard so many great things about The Graveyard Book, starting to think I may have to read this one! My TTT

  19. Pingback: October in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

