Random Reads #7 :: November 2013

randomreadsbanner

Random Reads is a monthly meme hosted by Sarah at I’m Loving Books. This feature is to get us reading a random book within the month that is in our TBR stack.

It’s been a month or so since I’ve participated in Random Reads. This is because I haven’t been doing a lot of reading of late, and was two Random Reads picks behind, so I decided to forgo Random Reads in October in order to get the two books I’d already chosen and hadn’t read finished. In the end, I ultimately decided to DNF Her Highness, the Traitor, as I just really wasn’t feeling the story and duel narrations, and after devoting almost two months to it and only getting 100 pages in, figured it wasn’t much of a loss. I fared much better with The Smoke Thief by Shana Abe [review], which I thoroughly enjoyed and would definitely recommend, particularly to fans of historical paranormal romances.

Interested in participating in Random Reads? Here are the (super easy) directions:

  1. If you’re on Goodreads, enable sorting to your to-read shelf (you should see numbers next to each book now).
  2. Go to random.org and type in the Min as 1 and the Max as how ever many books are on your to-read shelf.
  3. Scroll down to the book matching the number random.org picks.
  4. Post and link up.
  5. Read and be merry.

Random.org selected #12 (out of 964) this month, which is:

randomreads7I am actually really excited to give this one a read! It’s sort of a classic, particularly for lovers of fairy tales (I consider myself firmly in that camp), and has been on my to-read list since January 3, 2012, which was the day I joined Goodreads. Plus it’s short – only 240 pages – so shouldn’t take too much time to read, which is definitely a bonus considering my stupidly busy schedule!

Are you participating in Random Reads? What are you reading this month? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Random Reads and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Random Reads #7 :: November 2013

  1. Kala says:

    this is so cool, I have almost a 1000 books on my kindle and can never choose what to read nxt, this is a perfect solution!

  2. Quinn says:

    Merin, Merin, Merin, Ella Enchanted is so good! It’s really not like the movie, and it’s just freaking awesome! It was the first fairytale retelling I ever read. I hope you like it.

  3. Aly P says:

    Fairytale! I saw the movie and it was great! Hope the book is as good.
    Have fun reading it

  4. Ella Enchanted is my favorite fairy-tale retelling EVER. Like you, I consider myself to be a lover of fairy tales, so I’ve read a lot of retellings/reimaginings over the years. I first read this back when I was in middle school and it’s continued to resonate with me since then. I hope you end up loving it, Merin!

  5. Ella was one of my favorite books when I was a kid. It’s such a great read!! :) Hope you enjoyed it!

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

