October Book Haul

stsbanner

As I was putting this post together, I realized that I was actually pretty good in terms of adding new books to my collection this month! I only purchased a handful of them, picked up only two e-galleys (one of which I’ve already read and reviewed), and borrowed the rest from my local library. This is pretty darn good for a month, right? Of course, I splurged majorly, as you’ll see at the end of this post, but in terms of books I was very well behaved.

Here’s what I picked up in October:

octoberbooksPurchased:

(Also purchased but not pictured: The House of Hades by Rick Riordan)

Borrowed from the Library:

(Also borrowed but not pictured: Through the Zombie Glass by Gena Showalter)

fractured oceanattheend taledarkandgrimm beingsloanejacobs
aphrodite valkyrierising valkyriesymptoms houseofhades

E-books/E-Galleys/Audiobooks:

Other Goodies:

I bought an iPad! I went with the 32GB iPad with Retina Display in white (so, it looks similar to this one), and am already completely in love with it. It’s so convenient for times when I don’t want to actually turn my laptop on, and I also love that I can carry it around with me and do various work-related tasks on it. I kept trying to convince myself that I didn’t really need an iPad, but obviously I was dead wrong. Lesson learned!

RL Stuff:

  • I survived Parent-Teacher Conferences! They went surprisingly well, and none deviated into uncomfortable situations. Success!
  • Friday we had a full-day professional development session devoted to transitioning over to Common Core Standards. All of the information is so overwhelming, but I really did find the sessions useful, which is not always the case. I also got to see my former co-workers from my previous school, which was fun. I love that these PD days let you catch up with other folks you now don’t get to see very often.
  • We survived our Fall Festival Party! I had the kids make bracelets strung from Apple Jacks, and we also made super-cute acorns using donut holes, Nutella and chocolate sprinkles (picture HERE on Pinterest). I was extremely happy to hype them all up on sugar and then send them on their merry ways! :D
  • I am going to attempt to start Centers again with my students this week. We tried it before and they were just NOT ready to work independently or quietly enough, but I think we might be able to manage it now. I spoke with a teacher from my former school, and she gave me some pointers and ideas to try, so we’ll see how it goes. Cross your fingers for me, please, because centers are so helpful in the learning process and my kids really need to be doing more independent work!

So those are my new additions! What did you pick up that you’re super excited about? Please be sure to link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Stacking the Shelves and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to October Book Haul

  1. Ooooh an iPad! Fun! And Being Sloane Jacobs looks SO GOOD! I hope you enjoy all you got :)

    Here’s my STS!

  2. Some really great books this week, I really want to read The Burning Sky. Hope you enjoy them all! An Ipad would probably be really handy, get a bit sick of lugging my laptop around all the time! My STS.

  3. Shoshanah says:

    You picked up so many awesome books this week! But I think the ones that stand out the most to me are Bitter Greens and The Ocean at the End of the Lane. Happy reading!

  4. Pingback: October in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

