Top Ten Books I’d Recommend to Greek Mythology Lovers

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic was the Top Ten Books I’d Recommend To X Person. My “X” person was a Greek Mythology lover, a topic which most likely doesn’t surprise frequent visitors to my blog. I absolutely adore Greek Mythology retellings, so am excited to be able to recommend my favorites to you!

percyjacksonbooksPercy Jackson & the Olympians series by Rick Riordan

This is hands down my favorite Greek Mythology retelling of all time. I’ve rhapsodized about just how much I adore Percy Jackson, so this is old news to visitors to my blog. But suffice it to say, you need to read this series, even if Greek Myths aren’t necessarily your thing. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed!

nighttouristThe Night Tourist by Katherine Marsh

This was a pretty interesting and entertaining MG novel retelling the Orpheus and Eurydice myth. I especially liked the inclusion of the New York underground and the way the topic of death was handled. I’d definitely recommend this one!

nobodysprincess nobodysprize
Nobody’s Princess & Nobody’s Prize by Esther Friesner

I’ve always been rather fascinated by the story of Helen of Troy, and this fictional story of her childhood and teenage years was a lot of fun for me. I especially liked how strong and capable Helen was, and the adventures she went on and surprises she got into.

Post #60: A Thousand Ships Post #64: Sacrifice betrayal
Age of Bronze series by Eric Shanower

This is a really well done graphic novel retelling of the lead-up to the Trojan War. It’s not complete yet – his comics are taken and bound into a book, and it takes seemingly forever to get them published in the US – but what’s available is really first rate. I like how he’s made the war more of a human effort, leaving out any machinations by the gods (although they’re mentioned, you never see them). If you like graphic novels, definitely give this series a try!

zeusThe Olympians series by George O’Connor

This is just the first installment, of which there are now five (and a soon to be released sixth). While I didn’t love Zeus: King of the Gods as much as, say, Hades: Lord of Death, I still very much enjoyed his take on the gods and what makes them tick. Full of humor, brilliant artwork and myths you probably aren’t quite as familiar with, O’Connor’s series is a really good place to start for folks wanting to learn more about the Greek gods and goddesses.

fury envy

The Fury Trilogy by Elizabeth Miles

While the first book in this series started off pretty slowly, I very much enjoyed the sequel, Envy, and am looking forward to reading the final book, Eternity. I don’t necessarily believe the set up for this, but I do like the inclusion of the Furies and the way they work, and especially the way Miles incorporated the myths.

persephone

Persephone by Kaitlin Bevis

I LOVED this retelling of the Hades and Persephone myth. It’s really hard to do something different with the most popular Greek myth out there, but Kaitlin Bevis does just that. Not only is Persephone pretty awesome, but Hades is absolutely swoon-worthy. I am really looking forward to reading the second book.

furyFury by Shirley Marr

This is very loosely based on the story of the Furies – and is also fairly hard to get your hands on in the US – but I really really enjoyed this one a lot. This one was basically about a girl and her friends who decide to take their revenge on some people who wronged them. Normally I don’t go in for main characters with a lot of misplaced anger, but Eliza managed to completely suck me in and keep me interested throughout the whole book.

Okay, I realize that I only have eight books listed here, and most of them aren’t ones you necessarily hear a lot about. For instance, I’ve read the Goddess Test books, but don’t consider them very good overall, and I haven’t read Abandon or Everneath or Starcrossed. But I figure it’s always good to give folks possible “new to them” titles, so hopefully that’s what I’ve managed to do here, Percy Jackson excluded, of course.

What did you pick this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Top Ten Books I’d Recommend to Greek Mythology Lovers

  1. Great list! I’ve only read the Percy Jackson books from your list but they’re definitely a favourite! :) Rick Riordan does such a wonderful job at re-interpreting and incorporating Greek mythology into the present day…glad to hear that the graphic novels by George O’Connor are great; been eyeing them for some time ever since I saw a giveaway about it on GoodReads

    Have you read Marie Philips’ Gods Behaving Badly? I love that book, it’s pretty hilarious too

    My TTT

  2. My husband just started reading Percy Jackson, and I’ve been meaning to read it, too, so I am reading along with him. I’m so bad at keeping Greek mythology straight, so maybe some of these books would help me relate to them better. Thanks for sharing!

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    Great list. I’ve always been intrigued by the Percy Jackson books. Perhaps I should now attempt to try them out!

  4. Books, Tea & Me says:

    I really liked Nobody’s Princess, too, when I read it back in high school. Although I never got around to reading the sequel. And I’ve heard amazing things about the Percy Jackson series but I haven’t read it yet. It is on my to-read list though!

  5. I’m not that much into Greek Mythology, but a lot of my friends are. Nobody’s Princess sounds like something I might try.

  6. lipsyy says:

    I love the look of The Fury Trilogy and Persephone!

  7. Oh you should definitely check out the Starcrossed Trilogy if you like the story of Helen of Troy! I love it and love all your recommendations. I’ve been looking for some more Greek Mythology themed books to read and this is perfect, thank you! :D

  8. MsJohannah says:

    This is perfect! I love Greek mythology! !

  9. What a great idea for a list- I love Greek Mythology!

  10. Doris says:

    Awesome list. Just added a few to my tbr =)

    Our TTT

    Doris @ OABR

  11. ablightedone says:

    Nobody’s Princess & Nobody’s Prize and Persephone sound really great! Thanks for this list!

  12. I haven’t read hardly any Greek mythology Merin, so I will have to look up some of these books! I have read Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White recently, but that’s Egyptian mythology… it was really good though!!

  13. What a fun list I haven’t read any of these need to check them out!

  14. For another take on the women of Greek epics, I recommend Waiting for Odysseus and the ever-depressing Trojan Women. Herakles Gone Mad may interest those more curious about war and trauma in Ancient Greece.

  15. Pingback: November in Review | Read and Reviewed

  16. Om says:

    Ok. So I’m going to be really annoying here. I need help finding the title and or author name of a greek myth retold. I read a book about 20 years ago. It’s about a young woman who was born to a king. She had a sister who was younger, but I think their mother had died young so the father was overly protective and didn’t let them do much of anything. He did however, allow them to be educated by a wise greek man that had been taken as a slave. I think there was a character of an old wise woman who was sort of an oracle. At the end of the book, I think she grows up and falls in love and leaves her kingdom. I can’t remember the name!!!! and I really really want to re-read it. I THINK???/believe the author was a classical old timer along the lines of Dickens. Does it ring any bells?

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

