November Book Haul

stsbanner

I’m linking up with Stacking the Shelves again to showcase my book haul for the past month, since today is officially the end of November. My self control was pretty terrible this month, which is not good, seeing as I’m still not reading as much as I’d like to be. However, it’s really hard to resist books when I want to read them so badly!

bookhaulFinished Copies Received:

Thank you to St. Martin’s Griffin for both of these! I still need to read The Social Code, which is book one in The Start-Up series, but the series sounds interesting so I’m looking forward to giving it a read.

Borrowed from Library:

I really liked The Midnight Dress, as you can see from my review (final rating: 4.5 stars), so would definitely recommend that one if you’re looking for something different.

prisonerofnightandfog fates magnolia anythingtohaveyou beckythatcher warmbodies unteachable resurrection theriverman thepianist

E-books/E-Galleys:

You know what I hate? When requests from a long time ago suddenly come in all at one time. :-P Nonetheless, thank you a ton to Random House, Balzer + Bray, Simon & Schuster, Harlequin Teen, Flux and Macmillan for the e-galley access! I cannot even tell you how excited I am to read these, especially Prisoner of Night and Fog. I will probably be reading that one soon because I don’t think I can wait too much longer!

Audiobooks from Audible:

Even though I am still not completely sold on audiobooks, I picked these up with my Audible credits. I’ve heard nothing but praise for The Program, and it’s a title I really want to read. And I actually listened to most of Homicide a LONG time ago (like, over ten years ago) and never got it finished because I had to return it to the library. It’s narrated by Reed Diamond, who played Mike Kellerman on the show, so I kind of love hearing his voice as he tells the story that was the basis for one of the best police dramas ever shown on TV. In my humble opinion, of course. :)

Other Items:

  • I received a special promotion via Tieks which took 20% off my total, so I essentially got two pairs of Tieks for the price of one. This was WAY too good of a deal to pass up, so I added a pair of Cardinal Red and Metallic Pewter flats to my collection. I can’t wait to wear them.
  • I also bought a brand-new DVD set of Season 4 of Homicide: Life on the Street from Amazon for only $15, which is an amazing deal. I already own seasons 1-3, so was really happy to add another season to my collection. Four down, three to go!

RL Stuff:

  • I’ve been off work the last three days for our Thanksgiving Break and it has been AMAZING. I forgot how nice it is to be able to sleep in and do nothing if you don’t want to! I’ve definitely been capitalizing on my freedom to be completely lazy.
  • I still have not been to see Catching Fire. I am going to ‘fess up and admit that I haven’t read the book – I stopped after The Hunger Games because the brutality of the series was just NOT for me – but my mom loves the books, and I told her I’d go with her. We may be going later today, although it depends on if anything else pops up that needs her attention.
  • I got new glasses! They are purple, with glitter in the frames, and I love them. What I do NOT love is that they pick up the oil off my face extremely easily, so I’m constantly having to clean them off. I have a super strong prescription, so I go with their thin line, high index lenses, but those lenses need a special anti-glare coating on them. That coating really doesn’t react well with my super oily skin. I’m going to have to invest in a whole slew of those special cleaning cloths in order to keep them clean.
  • I just got finished writing my students’ progress reports, and then, in two and a half weeks or so, I have to do their second quarter report cards. The actual inputting of their “grades” (we don’t do letter grades for first grade, just G/S/M) isn’t so bad, but writing up the comments takes FOREVER. We got out of writing comments for first quarter because we had conferences, but this time we’re not so lucky. I’m really not looking forward to it!

So that’s what’s new with me from the last month! What did you pick up? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Stacking the Shelves and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to November Book Haul

  1. ChrissiReads says:

    Wow. You’ve got some great books. I’m not sold on audiobooks either. Perhaps I need to give them more of a try! I really liked The Program. I hope you enjoy it too.

  2. I’m having the same issue re Catching Fire. Actually really enjoyed Hunger Games (the book) but never continued with the series. Still can’t make up my mind if I’ll go and see the movie this week.

    Loved Warm Bodies, hope you like it. Also received Prisoner of Night and Fog last week. I think that’ll either be brilliant or fail. I’m hoping for brilliant.

  3. Resurection has an awesome cover. I must say that Fates has a really pretty cover as well. You got an amazing assortment of books this week. Come check out my stack as well.

    Grace

  4. Cassy says:

    Oooo so much books. I’m envious. Have fun with em!

  5. Ooo, I also got The Next Big Thing – a few weeks ago though. I forgot to feature it in that week’s STS post. Oops? And yay Fates! I got that one about a month ago. It sounds sooo good! :D

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Have a fabulous weekend!

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

  6. Jess says:

    Enjoy all of your new books! Sadie’s books are good, so hope you check out the series. :)

    And congrats on all of your new books too!

    -Jess

    My StS

  7. ahhh Tandem! I ordered my copy of Tandem 2 days ago, and will get it some time this week. I’m so excited to read it though I’ve read some negative reviews on it. I don’t care, I’ll still devour it lol!

  8. Cait says:

    I have to look up The Pianist now! I haven’t heard of it and, well, I love to play piano. ;)
    My StS!

  9. Pingback: November in Review | Read and Reviewed

  10. Wow you got lots of great books! I borrowed Midnight City from work this week, it looks really great so I’m excited to read that one. I hope you enjoy all your reads. My STS.

  11. jonababez says:

    Those books are new to me except for Warm Bodies. I haven’t read it but I’ve watched the movie! I love Teresa Palmer and Nicholas Hoult! LOL! :)

  12. Ellie says:

    Those are so great!! I think I’m gonna have to check my library if they have Tandem, I wanted to read it for awhile!

    Hope you enjoy all of your awesome books! Have a great day! :)

    Check out my STS!

  13. So many awesome reads for the month! I’m completely drawn to the cover of Prisoner of Night & Fog.. reminds me a bit of Splintered with the girl’s face and the colouring.. but i love it :)
    Is The Pianist the one that the movie with Adrien Brody is based off of?

    Happy reading,and thanks for stopping by my StS!! :)

    Michele

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

