Waiting on Wednesday #74

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski (Farrar, Straus & Giroux BYR):

winnerscurseIn the tradition of Kristin Cashore and Cassandra Clare comes this brilliant, unputdownable, star-crossed romance about the curse of winning.

Seventeen-year-old Kestrel is an aristocratic citizen of Valoria, a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers. Here, a girl like Kestrel has two choices: join the military or get married. Despite her skills in military strategy, Kestrel’s real passion is music.Which is why she feels compelled to buy Arin, a slave with a talent for singing, at auction. It’s not long before she finds herself falling in love with Arin, and he seems to feel the same for her. But Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for Arin is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Set in a new world, The Winner’s Curse is a story of wicked rumors, dirty secrets, and games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.

ADD TO GOODREADS

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

Even though forbidden romance can go SO wrong, particularly in YA, I am still a sucker for any book that includes this particular plot point. I can’t help but root for the pair, especially when their circumstances make it so clear they’re not supposed to be together. While the slavery angle makes me a tad cautious, I think overall this book sounds fantastic, and I can’t wait to read it. The gorgeous cover doesn’t hurt, either!

Release Date: March 4, 2014

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

signature2

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #74

  1. Great pick! I am definitely excited for this one too! Wish we didn’t have to wait March :(

    Erin @ Let’s Evaluate
    My WoW

  2. Kai A. says:

    Another popular WoW pick this week! I’m so jealous of everyone who got those amazing looking ARC packages. I have to agree with your pick though, that summary sounds so, so, so good! Great pick!

    Check out my WoW picks this week!

  3. That cover is absolutely gorgeous and the font used is just so complimentary! Great choice :)
    My WoW choice this week.

  4. leydylaura says:

    I love the cover, thanks for sharing!
    Check out our WOW of this week.

    Leydy @OUaT & RCE

  5. Brittany says:

    I’m so excited for this one as well! The comparisons are getting my hopes HIGH but I really do think it will be stellar! :)

  6. Candice says:

    Can’t WAIT for this one! I saw Marie at the Decatur Book Festival (in GA) several months ago and she was talking about this one. Sounded amazing. She also was giving out ARCs, but all the kiddos there managed to snag one before I could. Which… I guess is okay… :)

  7. This sounds really interesting!

  8. Seems like so many are waiting for this one! I actually am interested in it too! :D
    Waiting on Wednesday
    One Million Pages

  9. Cookie says:

    I have to say that I am not a fan of romance novels but this book blurb is not turning me away and makes me want to pick up the book to give it a chance. Great pick!

    My Blog

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s