Top Ten Goals/Resolutions for 2014

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is about our goals and/or resolutions for 2014. As a general rule, I don’t make any resolutions because I am terrible about keeping them, but I do have some things I would like to achieve this year, so am going to go ahead and post about them, even though doing so may very well jinx me. It seems like every time I post a list of things I want to read, or things I want to do, I never get to any of them. But since this is all in good fun, here’s my list. Just keep in mind as you read that I may not ACTUALLY do any of the things listed! :)

ttt50

1) Read at least 80 books. Usually I shoot for 100, but the past two years – as soon as I’ve hit Winter Break – I’ve done absolutely zero reading, so wanted to set a goal that wouldn’t have me feeling forced to do something I didn’t necessarily want to do.

2) Strive to eat healthier snacks. I am the first to admit that I love junk food. Like, I have an inordinately huge love for things I should not eat. So instead of things that really aren’t good for me, I am going to try to mix in some fruits, veggies, and yogurts. I like these things, but they’re just not my go-to snack food. We’ll see if I can get myself to make the switch.

3) Re-read The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit and read The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien. I love The Lord of the Rings books, but I’ve only read them once. I really want to re-read them this year, along with The Hobbit, and also make my way through The Silmarillion for the first time. I especially look forward to reading about Beren and Luthien’s epic romance. ♥

4) Buy a house. Yep, I really REALLY want to buy a house this year! I’m looking forward to having a place I can do whatever I want with, that will have enough room for all of my stuff (because I have a LOT of stuff!).

5) Actually make it through an audiobook. I know. A lot of you adore audiobooks and profess your love for them in long and gushing ways. I am not one of these people; I am fairly certain I have a touch of ADD and really have a hard time focusing on books that are being read to me. However, I really want to give this medium an honest-to-goodness try. If you have any audiobook recommendations that I should try, feel free to leave them in the comments.

6) Read more of my own books. I love the library, and e-galley sites are the bane of my existence, because there’s so much good stuff to be found in both places and I just want to read ALL THE THINGS. But I have plenty of things of my own to read, and really need to start getting through the ridiculous amounts of books piled up everywhere around me.

7) And on that note: Read galleys within one month of getting access to them. I am DEFINITELY going to try my hardest to do this one, because I really think it will make me think a bit harder about which ones I request. If I can’t read it within a month, I’m not going to request it. No, seriously, I’m not. SOMEONE PLEASE MAKE SURE I STICK TO THIS ONE, OKAY?

8) Be a bit less anti-social. I am SUCH a huge introvert. I joke that I don’t like people, and while that’s not entirely true, I really am a giant homebody who doesn’t like to go out. I know this about myself, but that doesn’t mean I can’t go out more than I would usually. Something about getting outside one’s comfort zone and all that, right?

9) Exercise more. Now, I am not saying I’m going to go out and join a gym or whatever. Because I’m not. But I would like to be a bit more active within the confines of my own home. Using the Wii Fit or Xbox Kinect wouldn’t be completely out of the question, and at least would get my moving around rather than my usual routine of collapsing in exhaustion upon getting home from work and watching mindless TV, am I right?

10) Be more awesome. No, really. Have you seen those Kid President videos? He’s a huge believer in being more awesome, and I love this motto and way to live your life. My favorite video is below. Give it a watch and then tell me that his adorable face and huge grin don’t make you smile as well!

Happy New Year, everyone! ♥

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Top Ten Goals/Resolutions for 2014

  1. ChrissiReads says:

    Happy New Year! We have similar goals. I definitely need to be more careful with ARCs. I got a bit carried away, when I first joined the e-galley sites. I hope you achieve your goals.

  2. Kid President is the best thing. He’s ADORKABLE!

    I recently discovered audiobooks and I do really love them. I think you just need to find one with a great narrator. That’s the key. I’m listening to Legend on audiobook now and I’m really not liking it and I think a big part of that is because both of the narrators are so terrible! But it can swing the other way too, because the first audiobook I read, The D.U.F.F is a book I know I wouldn’t have enjoyed if I actually read it, but the audiobook was the most amazing thing :D

    It just makes a change to constantly having the same songs in my iPod playing in my car lol

  3. Great choices! And buying a house, wow! I hope to move to my own place for now. Hopefully after exams! :)
    And I have to be better with ARCs and galleys as well. I suck at it.
    Happy reading!

    My TTT

  4. notesofabooklover says:

    Good luck to achieving your resolutions!

    I love the kid president too! He’s so funny! And the stuff he says is so true!

    I am trying to work out more too coz my BMI states that I’m overweight. But one week into the new year and I’m still not exercising ;(

  5. I have a hard time listening to audio books too! I can’t focus on listening. Haha!

    I’m working on exercising too. I climb up and down the staircase. :P

    Good luck on your goals :D

  6. chanzies says:

    Lol your list had me smiling! Great resolutions and good luck! I have the same NetGalley problem as you :)

    Here is my Top Ten Tuesday list if you want to check it out!

    Chanzie @ Mean Who You Are.

  7. Alisa Selene says:

    We are house hunting as well it is fun but stressfull its hard to find affordable, good neighborhood, good schools, things to do and nice looking house all in one!

  8. Lanaia says:

    #7 is definitely something I want to achieve, too! I always request those galleys, but then I read them much later than I was supposed to. I also need to be more anti-social and get out of my comfort zone! It’s so nice to stay at home all day and just read, right? ;) But we can do this! Good luck!

  9. bebeboss666 says:

    Love the list! good luck with all your resolutions :)

  10. leydylaura says:

    I actually started listening to audio books. It is not that bad LOL

    Check out our resolutions for this year – OUaT TTT

    Leydy @ OUaT & Redcarpetendings

  11. Quinn says:

    Oh my gosh, that kid president is just about the most adorable kid ever! And that video was awesome!! I’m so glad you shared that with us (me!!).

    Okay, so let’s talk about your goals, now. I totally feel with with Edelweiss and Netgalley being the bane of your existence. I need to be WAY more selective of the books I request. I’m almost always approved (because I’m a librarian) and then I just end up with way too many.

    I’m an introvert, too. I like doing things . . . once in a while. In fact, I wast just invited to do something with my family on Sunday, and even though I want to do what they’re planning, I wish it wasn’t on Sunday, because Sunday is sort of my “I’m not doing anything or talking to anyone so I will be prepared for all the talking and socializing that will start on Monday.” But I’m sure I’m going to have a good time, so I need to stop being all stubborn.

    I have a house, and it’s really nice to have the space. Also, I like it because I feel very alone on days that I need to be alone – as opposed to living in an apartment where I feel like people are always around, even if they aren’t in my apartment. So I wish you luck!!!

    • Merin says:

      Isn’t he the best? A teacher blog I follow linked to him a few months back and I just fell in love. <3

      And YES, having a place to be away from everyone! I can't wait. :)

  12. MsJohannah says:

    Audio books save me if I have a long drive somewhere. I have only read two audios this past year. One was The Witness. Very lengthy. And the other was In The After. But parts of that were confusing, because of it switching from past to present and visversa.

    • MsJohannah says:

      Okay, meant to continue. Silly brain. I’d suggest a short book. That way, you can finish it in a few weeks. And something with action to keep you interested.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

