REVIEW: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

thesebrokenstarsThese Broken Stars (Starbound #1)
by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

Disney-Hyperion, 2013
[Goodreads] [Book Depository]

It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

mythoughts

So I sat on this review for a lot longer than I usually do, because I had all these thoughts in my head and didn’t know where to start or how to formulate them so they would make sense. Mostly I was just bombarded with thoughts of how amazing the book was, how much I loved the setting, the characters, EVERYTHING about it, which doesn’t really make for the most coherent of reviews. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with gushing reviews – I’ve written my fair share of them – but I sometimes worry that reviews that do nothing but praise a book make some readers look a bit askance at the book in question because can it REALLY be that good? But These Broken Stars really IS that good, and I am so glad I got a chance to read it.

First off, this book is set in space. The book starts out on a state of the art spaceship that hits some sort of space turbulence and is ripped out of hyperspace. Our two main characters – Tarver and Lilac – manage to get into an escape pod and make an emergency landing on a nearby planet. But they’re the only two to survive the crash, and they’re on an unfriendly and unknown planet with very few supplies and more questions than answers. Throw in the fact that Lilac did something to upset Tarver earlier on, and their relationship isn’t exactly the smoothest, either. However, it was the way their emotions and feelings for each other slowly unwound that really drew me in. I found myself thoroughly loving both characters, but especially Tarver, who was just strong and surefooted and amazing. Lilac really gets to flourish as well later on, and I especially liked when they finally worked out how they felt for each other and just let the inevitable happen. I give this book a definite two thumbs up for the romance!

What I also liked was the survivalistic feel to this book. Every little thing Tarver and Lilac deal with is fraught with its own type of danger, not the least of which is the culmination of the plot and eventual climax. I also liked that, while Tarver is strong from the get go, Lilac really came into her own. She has a lot of surprising skills and insights that she slowly lets out, and she’s extremely tough in her own way as well. I liked the way her upbringing and prior relationships shaped her into someone she didn’t really like, and I loved that Tarver sort of found a way to dig beneath her defenses. Everything about this book, from the setting to the plot to the characters was just perfect. I literally have no complaints whatsoever.

These Broken Stars was everything I’d hoped it be, and more. There is not a single thing I would change about any of it; everything was well thought out, well written and fabulously exciting. I loved the relationship between the two characters, and the way they each got to showcase their strengths but also share their weaknesses. Hands down, this is literally one of the best books I’ve ever read, and I wholeheartedly recommend it to everyone!

5stars

An ARC was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

signature2

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to REVIEW: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

  1. One of the best ever? OHHH!!!

    Tarver and Lilac seem to be the subject of so much fangirling lately, I feel like I’ve missed out on something because I haven’t read the book yet. I can’t wait to though, you had me at ‘this book is set in space’ :D

  2. Quinn says:

    I keep hearing how wonderful These Broken Stars is, but I can’t decide if I should read it. It’s just the whole science fiction thing that I struggle with so much. That said, I have read a few books in the genre that turn out to be some of my favorites.

    I just love the cover for this book. It’s so gorgeous. I think I will have to give it a try.

    • Merin says:

      Okay, this reply is LONG overdue, so forgive me for that! Anyway, this book really isn’t terribly sci-fi, at least in my opinion. It’s much more reminiscent of a dystopian survivalistic tale instead. I was actually kind of surprised at just how much I loved it!

    • Merin says:

      And, that was me, just not logged in. :)

  3. Brilliant review, You’ve got me even more excited about me getting this soon!!

  4. Everyone seems to love this book, and I so badly wish I had a copy already. And I’m totally up for reviews that only have positive words in them. What can yo do when you really love a book? And I’m so glad you like this one. I’m looking forward to reading it in the future.

  5. Pingback: #BookADay :: Still Can’t Stop Talking About It | Read and Reviewed

  6. Pingback: MINI-REVIEW: This Night So Dark by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner | Read and Reviewed

  7. Pingback: REVIEW: This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

