Waiting on Wednesday #77

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times by Emma Trevayne (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers):

flightsandchimesTen-year-old Jack Foster has stepped through a doorway and into quite a different London.

Londinium is a smoky, dark, and dangerous place, home to mischievous metal fairies and fearsome clockwork dragons that breathe scalding steam. The people wear goggles to protect their eyes, brass grill insets in their nostrils to filter air, or mechanical limbs to replace missing ones.

Over it all rules the Lady, and the Lady has demanded a new son—a perfect flesh-and-blood child. She has chosen Jack.

Jack’s wonder at the magic and steam-powered marvels in Londinium lasts until he learns he is the pawn in a very dangerous game. The consequences are deadly, and his only hope of escape, of returning home, lies with a legendary clockwork bird.

The Gearwing grants wishes. Or it did, before it was broken. Before it was killed.

But some things don’t stay dead forever.

add to Goodreads

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

Middle-Grade steampunk? Yes, please! Honestly, I’ve been in such a reading slump that things I usually would have loved to read have been falling flat or failing to pique my interest at all. I actually don’t usually go for steampunk, but this one sounds really good, and considering that MG books have become something of a go-to for me personally, I am hopeful that this will live up to my expectations. And that cover! How awesome is that?

Release Date: May 13, 2014

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #77

  1. Nobody says:

    Ooooh! I love middle grade books and this sounds awesome! Thanks for sharing! =)

  2. Leydy says:

    That cover – goes and add. Thanks for sharing!

    Check our WOW

    Leydy @ OUaT & Redcarpetendings

  3. Camille says:

    Don’t you just hate it when reading slumps happen? I hope this will be one of the books that gets you back on the reading track :) I really like the cover and while I don’t really read middle grade books I love steampunk! :) Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s My WoW post :)

  4. new to me. Great pick.

  5. Jackie says:

    This definitely sounds like it will get you out of your reading slump! I love the title as well, very creative and MG :) Hope it helps the reading rut you’re in!

  6. Megan Nicole says:

    I don’t normally read Middle Grade books but I might start! I looove that cover!

  7. That cover is just too pretty! Sadly, I don’t read this genre, but thanks for sharing! :)

    Waiting on Wednesday
    Dress Up That Cover

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

