Top Ten Classics I Want to Read

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

First off, I am kind of goggling at the fact that I haven’t done a TTT post since – wait for it – March 31st! Good grief, I really did fail at being a blogger the last few months, didn’t I? However, I THINK I’m back – hopefully for good – and am ready to give you all my list of the Top Ten Classics I Want to Read. You know, at some point in the (probably not-very-near) future. I’m sure you all can empathize a bit with me on that, right? I mean, there’s just SO MANY THINGS to read out there! And I tend to find so-called “classic” literature a bit more dull and/or dry than what’s released nowadays, which doesn’t help. And in that vein, in order to mix this list up a bit, I’ve created a list of “new” and “old” “classics” to share this week. I promise that, at some point, I WILL read these books. You can put that down in writing!

ttt52

Books listed: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas | The Iliad by Homer | The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky | The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer | Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor | The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood | The Painted Veil by W. Somerset Maugham | Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier | Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys | Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

So what does your list look like this week? Did we do the same topic? Or did you spin things a different way? Please link me so I can come visit you!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Top Ten Classics I Want to Read

  1. Briana says:

    I love The Count of Monte Cristo! One of my favorite books. And not dull at all (in my opinion!). Unabridged is the way to go.

  2. The Count of Monte Cristo also made my list. There are so many classics I haven’t read. Shame on me. Hope you’ll visit me at http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2014/07/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-classics-i-want.html

  3. Daughter of Smoke and Bone was really good. It is one of those books with such a unique plot that it just sticks with you long after! :)

  4. I actually hadn’t done a Top Ten Tuesday in a while either. The topics just didn’t interest me. You have some beautiful books on your list. Between Shades of Gray is a book everyone should read!

    Angie
    Top Ten Tuesday

  5. Loved The Count of Monte Cristo, The Painted Veil, and Rebecca! :) You also mentioned a few classics I’ve been meaning to get to (The Illiad, The Canterbury Tales, The Handmaid’s Tale). Hope you enjoy these titles once you get to them :)

    My TTT

  6. ChrissiReads says:

    It looks like you’ve got some great classics to eventually get to! I know what you mean about the older classics being a bit dry. I completely agree!

  7. tashlyn says:

    The Handmaid’s Tale! Yes yes yes! You have to read it. Enjoy :)

  8. I did favorite classics I’ve read so far! Perks was a great book! Definitely read that. And Rebecca is one of my all time favorites!

  9. Definitely read The Handmaid’s Tale. Margaret Atwood is becoming one of my favorite writers.

  10. I’m not a big classics reader nowadays, but I read them more while in high school. I LOVE Rebecca though. You should read that soon. It’s so good, and it’s not really dry at all. The atmosphere in the back is amazing.

  11. Great list. I’ve heard that Rebecca is amazing so I should really get on to that sometime soon! You should really read The Perks of being a Wallflower. I was really unsure what I’d think of it but absolutely loved it. I love greek mythology so I really need to read The Iliad and The Odyssey. Hope you enjoy all of these!

    Becca @ Lost in Thought
    My TTT

  12. Classics then and classics-to-be now definitely have their own style to me, so it’s definitely great to see potential titles that you deem worthy of the classics title! Handmaid’s Tale is definitely a hit or miss for most readers (I’ve totally come across polar-opposites in reactions). But for the type of literature Atwood tends to gravitate towards writing about, it’s pretty stark in some of the tie-ins to what would-be in today’s society. So I can definitely see the choice for it to be a potential classic–even if I don’t majorly remember most of what happens (read it several years ago) haha.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

