State of Merin

stateofmerin

Good Lord. How do I even start this post? It’s been such a long time since I’ve actually blogged anything – I don’t count the BookADay posts, because I was pretty much copying and pasting those from Tumblr – that I’ve really kind of gotten out of the habit. And because I haven’t made a post like this since February (seriously – so much blogger fail), I feel like there’s just SO MUCH STUFF to catch up on. So I’m going to pull an Inigo Montoya and sum up, complete with bullet points. I figure that will just make this easier all around.

  • I have officially finished my first year as a first grade teacher. I figure that deserves some serious celebration, because there were certainly times when things were difficult, but I made it and can only hope that next year will be smoother. I figure I’ve got less of a transition this time, and a better grasp of everything involved in being a first grade teacher, plus a better idea of the curriculum, so here’s hoping that things are easier. At least a little bit.
  • I am still not reading at all like I used to. Like, AT ALL. I have read exactly two books since May – I will be posting the first review later this week, assuming I can even remember how to WRITE a review – and honestly can’t remember the last time I felt this apathetic towards reading in general. I really think that the general craziness of the last nine months work-wise just really zapped me, and I haven’t been able to get things back to my “normal” yet. Maybe soon. I have some really great books checked out from the library and am just hoping that one of them grabs me and sucks me back in.
  • I am on Instagram! [LINK] I mostly signed up so that I can participate in the Book Photo Challenge(s) hosted by Books & Cupcakes over on Tumblr, and am not really sure how often I’ll use it otherwise, but if you’d like to add me over there please do, and I will add you in return!
  • Likewise, I have actually started using my Tumblr for various things. It is not all book-related, because my mind is a jumbled mess and I have a lot of interests and things that strike my fancy, but I’d love it if you’d follow me if you’re at all interested in the chaos that is me. I do try to keep a nice mix of bookish things and non-bookish things, and always always tag in order to ease your browsing experience. (ALSO: if YOU have a Tumblr, please link me so I can follow you!)
  • I am hoping to planning on returning this blog to Regularly Scheduled Blogging, starting this month. I still have a month or so of Summer Break left, and am hoping to at least get some things read to start giving me a bit of a cushion as far as reviews are concerned. So you may only see maybe one review a week for the rest of this month, assuming I can actually focus enough to get things accomplished. I have been really good about (not) requesting galleys because the whole reading thing was just NOT happening, but I do still have plenty that I need to read and feel guilty over letting go. So my plan for the rest of the summer is to clear out my library pile (currently at three books) and do some serious damage to my e-galleys. Honestly it should be doable; I will accept any poking or prodding in my general direction to check on my progress!

And I think that’s a good place to stop. To sum up the sum up, I’m back, hopefully for good, hopefully with new book-related things, and you can now find me on Instagram and Tumblr if you’re interested in following me!

Guess I should get on with that whole reading thing now, huh? :)

signature2

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to State of Merin

  1. Glad you’re back. I’m sure that jumping to a teach position was a big transition. It’s so true that when you’re exhausted, and trying to get your feet under you that it takes too much energy to read. Even when you have time at home to read, it’s like your brain is having none of it.

    I hope you get a chance to relax and just read for fun this summer break.

    • Merin says:

      It really was. It was especially hard because my co-teacher was also new (she’d been teaching first grade in a totally different district, but was new to this district’s curriculum) so we were pretty much just muddling through. I also got a new student for 4th quarter who was QUITE a handful (to put it mildly) so he caused quite a bit of stress as well.

      And I sometimes think I’m the only one who is a sort of “physical” reader, so am glad to hear you say that. That’s exactly how I was feeling, pretty much the entirety of second semester. I did read a really good book as part of a 24-hour read-a-thon, so it’s not like I no longer CAN read quickly; it’s just that I really didn’t want to!

  2. Pingback: July in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

