Waiting on Wednesday #78

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang (Greenwillow Books):

fallingintoplaceOn the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

[ADD TO GOODREADS]

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

I’ll say upfront that I haven’t actually read any of the books written by the three authors listed at the bottom of this book’s summary. However, this book sounds amazing, and as someone who works with kids – admittedly much younger kids than Liz is in this book – really really important, assuming the subject matter is handled correctly. I feel like this one has the chance to really grip the reader and make them feel, and books that make me feel are never a bad thing.

Release Date: September 9, 2014

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #78

  1. Camille says:

    I’ve seen in a lot of WoW posts these past few weeks. I’m still thinking of whether I want to read this one. But I hope you’ll enjoy it as soon as it comes out. Thanks for sharing!

    My WoW

  2. I haven’t read any of those authors either! I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about this one already and I’m very curious about it for sure.
    I hope you’ll enjoy it when you get to read it. :)

    Nick – My WoW

  3. What caught my attention at first where those three authors listed at the synopsis. But the synopsis itself sounds really good and I can’t wait to give this book a go :)

  4. Carol says:

    Sounds really interesting. Defiantly adding to my TBR!

  5. I’ve read Lauren Oliver’s Panic, which I hated, and I read Jay Asher’s 13 Reason Why which I loved, so can’t wait to read this! Love the cover too, really simple but effective. :)

    Here’s mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

  6. imaginativeminds says:

    AHH!!
    Good pick, good pick! I’m so excited for this one and I’m so jealous of everyone that got an ARC!

    Here’s my WoW

  7. Awesome choice, this one sounds pretty good! I have seen it around quite a lot too! I absolutely love the cover. :)
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  8. Ashna says:

    This sounds really good. Thanks for sharing. Here is my Waiting on
    Wednesday

  9. Fiza @ I'll Read Till I Drop says:

    Oh wow, sounds like a heavy read. One I think I have to read ;)

    My WoW

  10. Pingback: July in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

