REVIEW: Split Second by Kasie West

splitsecondSplit Second (Pivot Point #2)
by Kasie West

HarperTeen, 2014
[Goodreads] [Book Depository]

Previous Installment: Pivot Point

Life can change in a split second.

Addie hardly recognizes her life since her parents divorced. Her boyfriend used her. Her best friend betrayed her. She can’t believe this is the future she chose. On top of that, her ability is acting up. She’s always been able to Search the future when presented with a choice. Now she can manipulate and slow down time, too . . . but not without a price.

When Addie’s dad invites her to spend her winter break with him, she jumps at the chance to escape into the Norm world of Dallas, Texas. There she meets the handsome and achingly familiar Trevor. He’s a virtual stranger to her, so why does her heart do a funny flip every time she sees him? But after witnessing secrets that were supposed to stay hidden, Trevor quickly seems more suspicious of Addie than interested in her. And she has an inexplicable desire to change that.

Meanwhile, her best friend, Laila, has a secret of her own: she can restore Addie’s memories . . . once she learns how. But there are powerful people who don’t want to see this happen. Desperate, Laila tries to manipulate Connor, a brooding bad boy from school—but he seems to be the only boy in the Compound immune to her charms. And the only one who can help her.

As Addie and Laila frantically attempt to retrieve the lost memories, Addie must piece together a world she thought she knew before she loses the love she nearly forgot . . . and a future that could change everything.

mythoughts

NOTE: This review contains VERY MINOR spoilers for Pivot Point!

Pivot Point was one of my favorite debuts from 2013, so I was really looking forward to diving into the sequel (and series finale) to see how things would work out for Addie. I was hoping that this book would deliver the same mix of romance, humor and action, and I wasn’t at all disappointed. In fact, I think I liked this one even more than the first! I felt like the action and drama really ramped up here – that probably had something to do with the fact that, in this story, the action was actually happening to Addie and Laila rather than being something Addie was “searching” – and I also LOVED that this book had dual point of views. Laila was just heartbreakingly real and I loved her a whole lot.

In fact, as much as I enjoyed watching Addie and Trevor get to know each other (for real, this time), I actually loved the snark and sass of Laila and Connor’s relationship a lot more. It was really awesome to watch them slowly fall for each other, and get a bit bruised by each other’s rough edges. I really felt for Laila and her not-so-great home life, and could understand where she was coming from, even if I didn’t always like her choices. The banter she and Connor have from the get-go pretty much told you how things were going to work out – you just can’t snark with someone as much as they do and not wind up getting together – but their journey was far from easy and sweet and I liked their missteps just as much as I did their quiet, perfect moments.

I do want to say that I kind of saw the whole “climax” of this book before it happened, but that actually didn’t hurt my enjoyment in the slightest. It was more of an inkling that I knew what was going to happen than anything that would disrupt the story, and I’m actually not sure that the reader wasn’t supposed to figure things out a bit; it was pretty heavily foreshadowed, at least in my opinion. But still, the way they all went about fixing what happens was again a lot of fun to read, and I just found everything to be extremely entertaining with a nice edge-of-your-seat feel. I especially like how all of the characters play a part in the resolution, too – usually you have that one girl or guy who solves things, so it was really cool to see everyone doing their part.

All in all, Split Second was the perfect ending to the story started in Pivot Point. The world is very unique, the characters well-crafted and enjoyable to read about – even the ones that you aren’t supposed to like – and the entire series was just a wonderful mix of paranormal and contemporary, with a dash of intrigue and romance mixed in and blended well. I can certainly wholeheartedly recommend this dualogy to anyone and everyone!

4.5stars

signature2

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to REVIEW: Split Second by Kasie West

  1. I haven’t read Pivot Point yet, so I didn’t read your review because I didn’t want to run into spoilers. But I have heard good things about these two books. I’ve read The Distance Between Us and On the Fence, both I really liked.

    I definitely need to make time for this series.

  2. Pingback: July in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

