My Top Ten Blogger Confessions

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

This week’s topic was REALLY hard for me! Because I haven’t been blogging like I used to, I sort of had to really think about the way I do things, and what would count as a “confession”. I almost just did a few of them, but eventually did manage to crank out a list of ten things. I’ll be curious to see how my confessions match up to other folks’!

ttt53a

ttt53b

I will be the first one to rush out and buy a book, and then let it sit on my shelf for ages before finally reading it. I’m always afraid that I won’t like it and be that one dissenting voice amongst the masses!

ttt53c

I know. I am probably the only YA blogger in existence who’s never read anything by this author. But see point number one, okay?

ttt53d

Admittedly, I haven’t finished it. But I got 50% through and just really wasn’t feeling it!

ttt53e

I really don’t use Twitter like I should. Sometimes I just honestly don’t feel like I have anything remotely interesting to say!

ttt53f

Sometimes I feel like I don’t offer anything “new” to the YA Blogger World. While I do insert my own voice into my posts, and have some things to give this blog a more personal feel, I still struggle to come up with things that others (and myself) would find interesting. See above re: the Tweeting, ha!

ttt53g

Writing reviews is HARD sometimes! Occasionally I find it hard to say what I want to say in a way that’s concise and non-spoilery. Sometimes I find it hard not to fangirl all over something. Other times I will procrastinate to the point that the details of the book I’m trying to review become fuzzy! But since part of having a book blog is writing reviews, I shall continue to muddle on through!

ttt53h

Maybe writing reviews wouldn’t be so hard if I did, but … I don’t. I don’t take notes. I usually can remember details well enough that writing notes isn’t really necessary. I will, however, use the Goodreads progress system to save quotes that I love, or to rant about plot happenings that annoy me!

ttt53i

I am SUCH a bad commenter on others’ blogs! I don’t WANT to be bad at it, but I really really am. I will always reply to comments left on my own blog – and when it comes to memes, I tend to visit those who visit me – but otherwise I really fail at the whole leaving comments thing.

ttt53j

Which makes this one ridiculous, right? If I can’t comment on others’ posts I really have no right to expect them to comment on mine.

ttt53k

Man, I have so many galleys I haven’t read! Admittedly this is because, when I was first accepted at the galley sites like Edelweiss and NetGalley that I sort of went crazy with the requesting. Now that my reading drive has dwindled quite significantly, I have been very judicious with my requests. I am hoping that I will eventually be able to get everything I have saved on my Kindle read and reviewed. It’s just going to take a LONG time.

So those are my confessions! What are yours? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to My Top Ten Blogger Confessions

  1. Briana says:

    Wow. We have a lot in common. :D

    I often don’t take notes on books either. (For now) I have a good enough memory that I can write fairly detailed (hopefully non-spoilery!) reviews without notes, if I do it a few days after I finish the book. If time passes and I haven’t written a review, I might then jot down some notes in the Private Notes section of Goodreads, so I can cobble together a review later. But it’s never as good as the ones I write sooner.

    Twitter has been a challenge for me, too. This week, I’m making a concerted effort to tweet every hour, to see how it goes, if it’s worth it, etc. It’s been a struggle coming up with tweets for just three days, especially since I sometimes also have that nagging question of, “Does anyone even care?”

    Great post!

    • Merin says:

      I always feel like I’m not witty enough for Twitter. It just doesn’t seem to be a medium that really suits me! And I try to write my reviews within a few days of finishing, too. They seem to come more easily if I don’t wait too long to get my thoughts written down.

  2. ChrissiReads says:

    I agree with a lot of your confessions! I’ve managed to get my NetGalley ratio up, but it took quite some time. I have to be very restrained with what I request now! I don’t want to get back to where I was. However, I do have a stupid amount of books on my kindle that I forget about! Eeek!

    • Merin says:

      I used to be SO bad about picking up those Kindle Daily Deals! They’re all just sitting there on my Kindle, and probably will never all be read. So I’ve pretty much just started deleting the email from Amazon so that I’m not tempted to add to my “collection”!

  3. Camille says:

    Aww, it’s sad to hear that you didn’t like Fangirl.. but that’s okay! :) I get a little bit anxious with books with a lot of hype because there will always be that thought at the back of my mind worrying about whether I’d enjoy it as much as other people obviously do. I actually haven’t read a John Green novel too.

    My TTT

  4. I’m with you on most of these! I can never think about what to post on blogs. But I think TTT is helping with that, I love how I seem to have at least one thing in common with everyone.

  5. Rachel says:

    Yes!! I agree with so many of these – I tend to avoid well-hyped books until the hype has died down a little, I haven’t read Fangirl yet but I’m not in a rush too either, I have this thing where I don’t think I’m going to like it. Well, I might like it but not LOVE it. I use Twitter a little now, I always swore I wouldn’t but it can be useful to promote giveaways and whatnot. Honestly though? I hate it. What am I supposed to do with 140 characters?? Someone once said Twitter is the equivalent of 200 people in a room all shouting a sentence at the same time. I completely agree, there’s too much nonsense on it, and it is updated so frequently that I just can’t keep up. So I rarely bother with it. I completely agree with 5, 6 and 7. I would love to find the time to make more original content and find people who come up with great content very inspiring. I don’t take notes when reading either (unless it’s an eBook – the highlight and note function is sooo handy and it does help when writing reviews, so you’d think I’d learn from that!) and I can find writing reviews tough. If I love a book or hate a book it’s easier. But if it’s an average 2.5-3/5 read, it can be hard to find anything noteworthy to say. I’ve considered not reviewing ALL the books I read anymore, if I have something to say I’ll review it, if not I’m going to do a recap post of the “mediocre” reads with a snapshot review instead. 10 made my list too… bad blogger….

    My TTT
    R x

  6. Numbers 7,8, & 9 are my life!!

  7. Nikki says:

    YES to finding it hard to write reviews. Reviews are HARD!! They take me forever, too, which doesn’t help. And I don’t take notes either! So yeah. I feel you there. I also find it really difficult to come up with new stuff for my blog. I’m sticking to reviews and the occasional discussion post right now, for that reason. =S

  8. Cecelia says:

    Lovely list this week! I’m having a great time learning how much we are all alike, and also the (many) things bloggers feel guilt about. It’s crazy!

    But yeah, I am with you 100% on #1 and #2. YOU ARE NOT ALONE! I feel like #2 feeds into #1 because I often hate hyped books, and if any books have been hyped ever, can we talk about John Green?! Ugh. Anyway… great list (and thanks for sharing it! i love knowing i’m not alone).

    • Merin says:

      I’m so glad to hear that! I don’t know what it is about John Green’s books, but the way everyone just fawns all over them really turns me right off!

  9. Hear, hear, another person I can add to the short list of readers who hasn’t read a Green novel! I feel the same way per: new content in the book blogging community. I’m already finding some difficulties writing up this weekly meme posts to even consider diverging into new avenues. Plus I’m thinking that if I ever come up with anything remotely interesting, I find myself believing that it’s going to be a recent rehashing or another amazing post that I will probably pale in comparison.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  10. thebedtimebookworm says:

    We have a lot of these in common! I’m absolutely terrible at tweeting. I just feel all awkward and uncomfortable and can never think of anything to say, so I tend to just avoid it for the most part. I totally get you on the ARC front – I may have gone kind of request-crazy when I started out, and now have a truly abysmal feedback ratio.

    Honestly, you’re not really missing out that much having not read any John Green books. They’re made out to be way better than they actually are – I never actually finished TFIOS. Also, Fangirl wasn’t great. It was okay, but the thing I liked most about it was that it was set in college/university. Everything else was pretty mediocre.

  11. Alisa Selene says:

    I am terrible about reading galleys as well..makes me feel terrible like I am cheating somehow lol

  12. +JMJ+

    So many people are “confessing” that they’re bad at leaving comments, and it now occurs to me that this is may be a “feature” rather than a “bug.” Maybe it’s actually not a bad thing if we don’t have comments to leave. Perhaps it’s even a sign that we and the blogger we can’t think of anything to say to aren’t meant to be blogging friends. The odds are that we’re not all going to have chemistry with one another . . . even if we’d really like to.

  13. Well you should be glad to know you are NOT the only person who hasn’t read a John Green book because I haven’t either :) I have the Fault in Our Stars but I just can’t… it takes me so much to prepare for cancer books so I don’t know if I will ever read this one :P

  14. Pingback: July in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

