Waiting on Wednesday #79

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters (Amulet Books):

curefordreamingOlivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in Oregon, and Olivia’s father, concerned that she’s headed for trouble, convinces a stage mesmerist to try to hypnotize the rebellion out of her. But the hypnotist, an intriguing young man named Henri Reverie, gives her a terrible gift instead: she’s able to see people’s true natures, manifesting as visions of darkness and goodness, while also unable to speak her true thoughts out loud. These supernatural challenges only make Olivia more determined to speak her mind, and so she’s drawn into a dangerous relationship with the hypnotist and his mysterious motives, all while secretly fighting for the rights of women. Winters breathes new life into history once again with an atmospheric, vividly real story, including archival photos and art from the period throughout.

[ADD TO GOODREADS]

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

In the Shadow of Blackbirds was one of my favorite books from last year, and probably the best debut I read by far. It was amazingly well-researched with a fabulously snappy and smart main character. I am pretty sure The Cure for Dreaming will be much in that same vein – the summary sure sets it up to be, at any rate – and I absolutely can’t wait to read it!

Release Date: October 14, 2014

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #79

  1. I love her cover arts for her books. This blurb sounds good as well. She seems like an interesting writer. Thanks for sharing :)

    Happy Wednesday!

    Shane @ Itching for Books

  2. I’m really excited about this one as well! I enjoyed the author’s first book and I have no doubt this will also be pretty amazing.
    Also, how pretty is that cover? :)

    Nick – My WoW

  3. I’ll read anything of hers now after In the Shadow of Blackbirds, LOVED it, was one of my favourites of last year too. :)

    Here’s mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

  4. Nemo says:

    I have so much love for this cover! I mean look at it! Gives me chills, i can’t wait to read it either. I hope the book is just as good as the cover! :)

    Nemo @ Blame it on the Book

  5. This one sounds excellent. I love the cover for this book.

    Grace
    Books of Love
    http://gracebooksoflove.com

  6. Amber says:

    Ohh this sounds really good! I love the cover too :)

    Amber @ The Book Bratz
    My Waiting on Wednesday

  7. Veronika says:

    I don’t usually read historical fiction but this sounds pretty good, nice choice! :)
    My TTT: http://reading-is-dreaming-with-open-eyes.blogspot.hu/2014/07/waiting-on-wednesday-4-nikki-urang-hit.html

  8. I actually haven’t read In the Shadow of Blackbirds, but I’ve heard amazing things about it. I’m loving the trend in incorporating images into the stories in YA right now. This one’s another I’ll be adding to my TBR!

  9. Keely says:

    The cover is so amazing, I don’t even care what the book is about, I love that cover. Great pick!

    Keely @ ireaditandwept

  10. fiza says:

    Like the sound of this one, on my list you go :D

    My WoW

  11. Pingback: July in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

