July in Review

monthinreview

It’s been so long since I made one of these posts that I actually had to search for my previous ones so I could see how I did the layout! Oops? Anyway, July marked my return to regular blogging, and while I’m still not sure how well I’ll be able to mesh reading with work – I start back next week, on August 7th, for Orientation Week – I am hoping to at least be able to manage reading one book a week, which will keep me on pace for posting one review a week here on the blog. We’ll have to see if I can maintain that, but it should be doable.

Compared to the rest of this year, July definitely included a comparatively huge uptick in the number of books I read. Previously I had read a total of three books from January – May, 1 book in June, but managed five books in July. It still isn’t the pace I was previously reading at, but I’ve come to accept that – right now at least – that isn’t going to happen and I’m okay with it. Thanks to all of you who have stuck around while I took some time to figure things out, and thanks also to the new followers I’ve picked up since my return! I’m happy to have you here with me. :)

BOOKS READ IN JULY:

lovelyandthelost prisonerofnightandfog savagedrift dissonance starling

REVIEWS POSTED:

Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins
Split Second
by Kasie West
The Lovely and the Lost by Page Morgan
Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman
Dissonance by Erica O’Rourke

I am currently reading The Silmarillion as part of the Tolkien Read-Along Group on Tumblr, and will most likely be starting The Winner’s Curse within the next day or so.

OTHER NEWS AND/OR POSTS OF INTEREST:

Regular blogging means a return to weekly memes! I participated in Top Ten Tuesday where I shared my Top Ten Blogger Confessions, my Top Ten Favorite TV Shows, the Top Ten Characters I’d Want With Me on A Deserted Island, and the Ten Authors that Feature the Most Prominently on Our Shelves. I also signed up to participate in ARC August, and set a goal of reading six books.

I was also an Official Participant in the Trees of Reverie July Read-A-Thon! I only read five books – which is a low number compared to some of the other participants – but I’m just happy to be able to mark some titles off my to-read list, regardless of the number.

In more meme-ish news, I also returned to Waiting on Wednesday, where I chose to feature Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang, The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters, The Wondrous and the Wicked by Page Morgan, Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick, and Invisible by Dawn Metcalf.

Other posts of interest include my musings on the hype machine and it’s impact on my personal reading habitsmy July TBR Pile, my monthly personal post, and my June Book Haul.

Also, in case you missed it, you can find me on Tumblr and Instagram! Please add me if you have accounts on either site!

ANTICIPATING IN AUGUST:

sistersfate

Other Things I’m Anticipating: While I’m sort of lamenting that my Summer Break is pretty much over, I am excited to meet my new students! Meet the Teacher Night is scheduled for Monday, August 11th, with our first day back to school on Thursday, August 14th. It’s almost here! Guess that means I should probably start putting my classroom  back together, no?

And with that, July is officially a wrap! August, here we come!

signature2

This entry was posted in Month in Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July in Review

  1. I’m so happy that your back Merin :) 5 books is still great compared to the previous months,I’m sure you will pick up your reading page again. I hope all goes well with starting back to school and have an awesome August!!!

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

