REVIEW: Savage Drift by Emmy Laybourne

savagedriftSavage Drift (Monument 14 #3)
by Emmy Laybourne

Feiwel & Friends, 2014
[Goodreads] [Book Depository]

Previous Installments: Monument 14 | Sky on Fire

NOTE: Summary contains spoilers for the first two books in this series.

The survivors of the Monument 14 have finally made it to the safety of a Canadian refugee camp. Dean and Alex are cautiously starting to hope that a happy ending might be possible.

But for Josie, separated from the group and trapped in a brutal prison camp for exposed Type Os, things have gone from bad to worse. Traumatized by her experiences, she has given up all hope of rescue or safety.

Meanwhile, scared by the government’s unusual interest in her pregnancy, Astrid (with her two protectors, Dean and Jake in tow) joins Niko on his desperate quest to be reunited with his lost love Josie.

Author Emmy Laybourne reaches new heights of tension and romance in this action-packed conclusion to the Monument 14 trilogy.

mythoughtsSavage Drift brings Emmy Laybourne’s Monument 14 trilogy to a thankful close. And with that first sentence, you can probably already tell how I felt about this book – and this series – without me even going too much more in depth. But this wouldn’t be a very good review if I just left it at that, so I’m going to expound a bit more on why, ultimately, this book just didn’t work for me personally, with the caveat that reading is subjective and you may feel completely different than I did if you read the book(s) yourself. Ultimately I was left feeling dissatisfied with the outcome, disconnected from the characters, and ultimately rather apathetic as a whole.

As a sidenote, since this is the final book in a three-book series, there may be spoilers for previous installments. Please keep that in mind as you continue to read.

Because I want to stay away from spoilers as much as possible, let me just say that my biggest issue – much like with the previous two books – is that I just did not find myself connecting with these characters at all. Like the previous book, which alternated viewpoints between Dean and Alex, this book alternates between Dean and Josie. There is a pretty heavy sympathy card being played with Josie in particular, and while I guess I sort of felt for her – or at least, knew I SHOULD have been feeling badly for her – oftentimes it just didn’t work. There was one and only one exception to this, but for the most part, I just really found myself not caring that this young girl was in a terrible situation with little left to hope for. I just … didn’t care. Which doesn’t usually happen – I tend to connect emotionally with at least one character in whatever I’m reading – and definitely put a damper on my enjoyment of this book. As for Dean, I found him to be just as annoying and whiny as ever, and the drama between Jake and Astrid and him was ridiculously overwrought. Again, I pretty much just floated along as he and the others went about their business. I don’t know if it’s just the way the author writes, or if there wasn’t enough background to draw me in, or what, but ultimately these books just did not evoke the kind of emotional response I wanted them to, and directly impacted my ultimate rating.

I also feel like this book was written with a much younger audience in mind. The way the book was written, the word choices, pace, style, etc., tended to kind of grate after a while, and while the book is a fast read – there was enough action and adventure to keep me turning the pages – there was never that one thing that sucked me in and really grabbed me. I also was annoyed with the end, which I felt was too neatly wrapped up. Considering everything these characters had gone through, and the state of the world they’re living in, it just really didn’t make sense to me and I didn’t like it. I also kind of felt like, after things had been dragging on for so long, that the ultimate climax of the book hit too quickly. It didn’t help that it was done by alternating the two characters’ viewpoints, sometimes only having a few sentences on each page. I know, I know, it’s not my book, but … I dunno. I just really don’t think it worked. I kind of felt myself getting a bit out of control and whipped around, which wasn’t exactly comfortable for me as a reader.

Ultimately, after reading three books by Ms. Laybourne, I can say with certainty that she and I just aren’t a good fit. There’s just something about the writing style of her books – and the way that, each time, I didn’t connect with her characters – that puts me off and really bothers me. Nonetheless, you may enjoy this book, especially if you liked the first two. But, in my opinion, this was the weakest of the three, and a rather unsatisfying ending to the series. Of course, your mileage may vary!

2stars

signature2

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to REVIEW: Savage Drift by Emmy Laybourne

  1. Alisa Selene says:

    I agree I liked the first book and thought it had promise but the sequels really disappointed…too bad it had a cool concept!

  2. Pingback: August in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

