Top Ten Books I’d Give To Readers New to Mythology Retellings

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic had me doing a bit of thinking. I initially thought about doing several different topics, but ultimately chose to fall back on my good old standby: mythology retellings. So, below you can find the Top Ten Books I’d Recommend to Readers New to Mythology Retellings. However, I didn’t stick to one set of myths, instead bouncing all over the place to incorporate different pantheons. This list is still pretty heavily geared toward Greek Myths – they are my favorite, after all – but I think I included enough variety for folks as well.

ttt57

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

percyjacksonbooks1) The Percy Jackson & the Olympians Series by Rick Riordan
Hands down, this is my all-time favorite mythology retelling ever. Percy is a riot, the adventures are fun, and the nods to the Greek Myths amazingly redone. Just read it. Seriously.

vessel2) Vessel by Sarah Beth Durst
Set in the desert, this book includes gods of the authors own creation, but the mythology is well-developed and amazingly woven into the book’s plot. There’s even a fabulous main character and lots of peril and plight and awesomeness!

fury3) Fury by Shirley Marr
This book is loosely based on the story of the Greek Furies. While I didn’t love the main character – you’re not really supposed to – the nods to the myth and the way this was written just really pulled me in. It’s Australian, though, so Fishpond is your best bet if you want to purchase it!

nobodysprincess nobodysprize
4) Nobody’s Princess & Nobody’s Prize by Esther Friesner
I loved this look at what young Helen of Troy may have been like. This Helen is full of sass and snark, and extremely strong. I liked the glimpse into various to-dos straight out of the myths as well.

kanechronicles5) The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan
Yay, Egyptian Myths! There is a surprising lack of Egyptian Mythology Retellings out there, but Mr. Riordan knows his stuff, and – while I don’t like Carter and Sadie’s adventures as much as I do Percy’s – they’re still enjoyable with a lot of excitement and danger. I actually still need to read the third book!

valkyrierising6) Valkyrie Rising by Ingrid Paulson
Norse myth retellings are equally as elusive as Egyptian ones, but I loved this look at the female Valkyries. I also really enjoyed the main character, and the romance – which has nothing to do with mythology, but it’s always good to have a well-rounded story, right?

allourprettysongs7) All Our Pretty Songs by Sarah McCarry
This book took some getting used to, because the prose style is a bit different. But once I did, I found myself entranced by this retelling of the Orpheus and Eurydice myth. The whole book is just hauntingly gorgeous.

cityoffire8) City of Fire by Laurence Yep
It’s been a while since I’ve read this one, but I remember liking the mix of the mythologies present in this book. There isn’t one set of gods determining things; they’re ALL present and accounted for!

persephone9) Persephone by Kaitlin Bevis
Yep, here’s one of those Hades and Persephone retellings that are oh-so-prevalent! But this one is refreshingly different, and while I haven’t read the rest of the books in the series, I have it on good authority (ie. via bloggers I trust) that they don’t disappoint.

Post #60: A Thousand Ships sacrifice betrayal
10) The Age of Bronze Series by Eric Shanower
This series isn’t so much a mythology retelling as it is a retelling of the Trojan War WITHOUT interference from the gods. The book really looks at the humans involved more than any divine intervention. I just found out part 3B has finally been released, and I can’t wait to read it!

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

So that’s my list this week! What topic did you choose? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Top Ten Books I’d Give To Readers New to Mythology Retellings

  1. I’ve been waiting for a list about mythology re-tellings- THANK YOU! I’m currently reading the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and I’m absolutely loving it and it got me wondering if there was anymore mythology-based re-tellings. I will definitely check some of these out :D Great post!!!

  2. Lucy says:

    I haven’t found the right mythology retelling book for me, so I appreciate you steering me in the right direction. I think All the Pretty Songs, Fury and Vessel sound very intriguing.

    • Merin says:

      Out of all of those, I’d definitely recommend Vessel first. It was just gorgeously written, and because it’s not rooted in an actual pantheon of gods, there’s no desire to make comparisons between the original and the retelling.

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    Great idea for a list! I do enjoy mythology retellings so it’s handy to have some recommendations!

  4. I love Mythology Retellings, but I only have read a few of those. Vessel looks particularly good!
    My TTT

  5. lipsyy says:

    I love this list! You’ve just made me add more books to my wishlist though, damn you!

  6. Camille says:

    This is such a unique recommendation list. And while I haven’t read mythology re-tellings yet, a lot of these titles really do interest me now. Maybe I’ll start with Persephone. :) Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s my TTT

  7. HOLLY says:

    I love your unique topic! The only thing on your list I have read is the Percy Jackson series. I’ll definitely have to check out some of the other ones!

  8. I love the genre you picked! The Kane Chronicles is on my TBR and I hope to start them somewhat soon. I have heard nothing but good things :)

    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert

  9. Christina says:

    Ooo, I love that your list is based on mythology. I will have to give some of these a shot. Great list!

  10. April Wood says:

    Love this! And I agree, hate the awards and tags that are so frequent on here!!!!

  11. Seriously, seriously, seriously Percy Jackson! You know, I was never a bit fan of Valkyrie Rising. I wanted to like it, but it just fell a little flat for me.

  12. Alisa Selene says:

    These all sound really cool..like the look of Vessel!

  13. Well I have read a total of none of these :/ How embarassing. But I have recently gotten really interested in mythology and the ones I have read (most recently Descendant from Lesley livingston’s Starling series) are fantastic. I especially like Norse mythology so Valkryie Rising is definitely on my TBR. I need to read Percy too … how sad I hadn’t read that before, I don’t know how I missed that years ago. Awesome recs Merin, it’s been awhile since I had so many books to had from a TTT :)

  14. If the writing in Vessel is of any similarity (well, maybe just the desert aspect) to Durst latest novel, The Lost, then definitely sign me up!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  15. bftreviews says:

    Have you read Of Poseidon? It’s more subtle with it’s mythology but it’s still great!

  16. Pingback: Weekly Roundup: So Much To Do, So Little Time! | Picture Us ReadingPicture Us Reading

  17. Pingback: August in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

