State of Merin

stateofmerin

Another month gone, another personal update! I’m going to preface this one with one of those internet e-cards, because it is particularly apt considering what I’m going to be up to today:

teacherecard

I’m sharing this one because it makes me laugh a bit: my Summer Break is over! Today and tomorrow I have Orientation Meetings, Monday is Meet the Teacher Night, I have PBIS/Discipline training stuff on Tuesday, we’re off Wednesday, and school starts on Thursday! Where did summer go, seriously? It always just seems to fly by even though I’ve been off for over two months. Craziness!

With the start of a new school year looming, I am still cautiously optimistic that I will be able to maintain some sort of blogging consistency and continue to keep things on a regular posting schedule. I’ve been giving some thought to how I want to run things, and have come up with the following:

Monday: Review post
Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday
Wednesday: Waiting on Wednesday
Thursday: Merin’s Musings (once a month) – the rest of the month will have something TBD

At the beginning of each new month, I will also share my TBR Pile, give a personal update via a State of Merin post, and do a Monthly Recap for the previous month.

I am still trying to come up with something I can do on the Thursdays when I don’t have a Merin’s Musings post. Since I’m doing Books & Cupcakes Monthly Photo Challenges over on Tumblr, maybe I can share some of my favorite bookish photos that I’ve taken or something. I am still debating; next week will be a Musings post, so I have two weeks to figure things out!

I am not currently planning on posting Friday-Sunday aside from the first Saturday of the month when I will share my monthly Book Haul posts. I know I am going to need this time to read and decompress from the work week, and am trying to keep things as low-key and stress-free as possible. I think that was part of my blogging failure over the last half of the school year last year; I was feeling anxious and overwhelmed over my lack of reading, and I just don’t want a repeat performance of that.

So, anyway, that’s where I’m at right now! I shall sign off with one final teacher e-card:

staffmeeting

Bring on those staff meetings! :D

signature2

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to State of Merin

  1. ChrissiReads says:

    I’m starting a post graduate degree in teacher training this September and I’m terrified about how it’ll affect my blogging balance. I’m glad to see that you’re finding a balance between teaching and blogging! Gives me hope!

  2. HOLLY says:

    Wow, school starts early for you! My school doesn’t start up again until the very end of August.
    Best of luck with everything!

  3. I like to take the weekends off too. I just need time to decompress from work, and really just be by myself. And read, of course! Taking those days off from blogging has been so beneficial to me. That’s not to say I might not do blog stuff, but only if I truly want to. Not because I feel like I should.

  4. Livvy @The Absent Historian says:

    Ahh, best of luck with the return! Definitely understand you on not being able to balance things out, which I am hoping to do better with my return to the blogging world now. And those memes made me laugh so much, I know quite a few people who work in schools and they are all the same!

  5. Alisa Selene says:

    ROFL I just started today..the first day of school is always SO hectic..sighs..I likewise am going to try to maintain bloggy focus!

  6. amyo3119 says:

    I wish I was as detailed as you are. I should set up a schedule, someday.

    We start on Thursday too. I was starting to make my list of all the things I need to get finished before then. Why is summer so short? Two months is nothing!

  7. Pingback: August in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

