Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read Anymore

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday post asks us to list ten books that we used to want to read, but now aren’t so sure about. I loved the way they put it: To Read or Not to Read? I’ve limited my list to books I actually own that are now mocking me from the depths of my TBR pile(s). So I really have no excuse for not reading them except that, well … I just haven’t. In some cases it’s because I’ve heard not-so-nice things, in others it’s just that my interests have changed. I’m sure there are actually more than ten books that could go on this list, but these are the ones I decided to share this week.

ttt58

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

theselection

I’ve just heard so many bad things about this series that it’s really turned me off. Not sure if I’ll read this one or not.

jonathanstrange

This book is SO LONG. It’s sitting on my shelf, MOCKING ME, and I just … can’t. I really kind of want to? But I know it would take me absolutely forever to get through it, and I don’t know if I want to read it THAT badly.

storm

I’ve heard good things about this series, but what’s turning me off a bit is that it’s … a series. And I’ve just got SO many of those that I’m trying to follow right now.

ravenboysuk

I actually tried to read this one and just could NOT get into it. This is one that I’m actually planning on trying again, though.

clockworkangel

There was so much uproar when Clockwork Princess was released that I couldn’t help but get swayed a bit in my desire to read this series. I might still give it a try, but it’s not at the top of my list.

collector

I just don’t think I’m really in the mood to read about a rather arrogant bad boy. Plus, the longer this book is out, the more lackluster reviews have appeared. I’m just really torn about it, and don’t know if I’ll ever read it or not.

everneath

This is another one I’ll probably eventually read, mostly because I cannot resist the lure of a mythology retelling.

poisonstudy

I bought this one because various folk kept recommending it. And yet, now that I have it, I’m not sure why I did, because it doesn’t even sound like something I’d usually be interested in.

incarnate

Again, I’m torn on this one because it’s the start of another flipping series. And I just … I’m so kind of done with those, you know?

cityoffallenangels

Personally speaking, I just really don’t think The Mortal Instruments series needed to be continued. I kind of liked the ending just as it was, you know?

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

So those are the ten books I picked this week! What made your list? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read Anymore

  1. Gilded Lady says:

    Skip “The Collector.” I wanted to punch Dante in the face. Not only is he arrogant and never really change, he only grows interested in the female MC when she starts getting pretty. I legit do not get why people went gaga for him.

  2. Anne says:

    I love THE RAVEN BOYS. It is very well-written and has a unique storyline. I recommend it.

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    I have Incarnate on my list this week. I have such trouble with series! I kind of don’t want to start any more new ones but so many books are series now! I do recommend Everneath though, I loved it!

  4. Amy Wallin says:

    Athough I’ve never read Poison Study, I would definitely try to power through your apprehension.

  5. Rachel says:

    The Selection and The Raven Cycle are the only ones I question that were actually on my TBR. I fully intend to read The Study series and own 4/6 books (waiting to have them all to binge, plus my collection starts at book 2…). I own TID series and I’m halfway through book 1, and I’ve read the whole TMI series – they’re not the most perfect books, and you’re right – books 1-3 feel like a separate trilogy to books 4-6 (which I guess they kind of are), but I love Shadowhunters and I love this world, so unless it’s a truly abysmal book I’m going to like it. Incarnate and Everneath are on my radar but I haven’t committed to them yet in any way…

    My TTT: http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/08/12/top-ten-tuesday-books-that-give-me-indecisive-syndrome/

  6. HOLLY says:

    I read Clockwork Angel a few months ago and really enjoyed it! I’ve only read the first book in that series so I can’t speak for the rest of it, but it got off to a great start!
    My TTT: http://nutfreenerd.wordpress.com/2014/08/12/top-ten-tuesday-books-im-not-sure-i-want-to-read/

  7. I get a little turned off by series too – I feel like if I start them I have to finish them so I’m hesitant to start them. I liked Storm – and liked the books which follow it even more than it. I like how it follows a different brother in each novel. Mixes things up a little.
    I love the look of Poison Study. I read Maria V Snyder’s Healer series and loved it so maybe I should get around to reading it.
    If you do read any of the books on your list – I hope you enjoy them and they surprise you!

  8. I definitely liked the ending of City of Glass, too. I did read City of Fallen Angels, but I wasn’t in love. I am curious to how it ends, but . . .

    I think you can pass on Storm, and The Collector. They’re both okay, but I didn’t find them amazing at all.

  9. bftreviews says:

    Poison Study is worth the read. It’s an awesome series!
    My TTT

  10. The Elemental series is very enjoyable. The last book comes out in a couple months I think, so it would be nice to put it off and then binge read the series whenever you want. And you should give Ravens Boys another shot! The story itself is a little weird, but I love the characters in that series so much!

  11. I have the Selection as well but I actually really want to read it because of the bad things haha. I’m not sure why I haven’t picked it up yet!! I really, really recommend Clockwork Angel. I know that a lot of people were pissed about Princess but I loved every single bit of this series, I rated the whole thing 5 Stars!! I thought it was phenomenal!!!I haven’t read City of Fallen Angels either. I own it but just haven’t picked it up, I’m a sucker though so I probably will lol.

  12. I really liked The raven boys, but I think it depends whether you like the writing-style or not! I liked Everneath and I ADORE Poison study :)

    Mel@thedailyprophecy

  13. I have the ebook version of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell and I’m sure it will be a while before I muster up the energy to read it. It’s already been a while since I purchased it. I want to…but the effort involved will be quite a lot haha. But I think it’s supposed to be really good!
    The Everneath series was interesting, but I did find the mythology basis to be rather flimsy. It’s not very clearly derived from Greek mythology, but it’s interesting in its own right, I suppose.
    Poison Study is very good and I recommend it. Even if it’s not your usual thing, if you own it I recommend you giving it a try!

  14. Pingback: August in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

