Waiting on Wednesday #84

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for The Blood of Olympus (Heroes of Olympus #5) by Rick Riordan (Disney-Hyperion):

NOTE: Summary contains spoilers for the previous books in this series!

bloodofolympusThough the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen—all of them—and they’re stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood—the blood of Olympus—in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it “might” be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea’s army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

[ADD TO GOODREADS]

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

Oh, man, this is like, my most anticipated book of 2014. As anyone who is a regular visitor to this blog knows, I ADORE Percy Jackson and Co., and have loved every single book that features him as a character. This series is so amazing – funny, dark, with fabulous character development, amazingly written, full of drama and angst and adventure and twists and turns and, and, and … it seriously makes me gesture about with flail-y hands. I absolutely cannot wait to see how this series ends!

Release Date: October 7, 2014

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #84

  1. Boy do I have a lot of students who are waiting for this one! They are going to be SO excited! Happy reading.
    Waiting on Weds @Libby Blog

  2. Camille says:

    I honestly have not read any from this author yet although I have a friend who’s just a big, big fan of the series and the author as well. :)

    My WoW

  3. I’m on the 4th book of the Percy Jackson series and I am loving it so far! I’m thinking of starting this series after. I only have the 3rd book on my shelf (I found a really good copy at a thrift store and I couldn’t just leave it there!) so I’ll probably purchase the first two and book 4 after I finish the PJ series :D

    Awesome post!!! Oh and that book cover- E.P.I..C!!!

  4. I still have to finish his Percy Jackson series but am enjoying them. Here are my picks.

  5. I have yet to start the Percy Jackson series… but, they’re definitely on my TBR.
    Here’s my WoW! :)

  6. I haven’t even read Percy Jackson yet, boooooo. :( Need to do that soon!

    Here’s mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

  7. I am so, so, so excited for this one too. I actually think I like The Heroes of Olympus series more than the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series, which is crazy. I wasn’t really all that much a fan of The Lost Hero. But the third and fourth book really impressed me. I need to see what is going to happen to our friends!

  8. Ah! Just seeing the cover makes me so giddy! lol, I cannot wait for this book to arrive. Just trying to imagine the showdown that’s coming, and all the characters, its so great. Gonna be epic!! Thanks for sharing!
    My WoW.

  9. Pingback: August in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

