Waiting on Wednesday #85

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for This Shattered World (Starbound #2) by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner (Disney-Hyperion):

thisshatteredworldThe second installment in the epic Starbound trilogy introduces a new pair of star-crossed lovers on two sides of a bloody war.

Jubilee Chase and Flynn Cormac should never have met.

Lee is captain of the forces sent to Avon to crush the terraformed planet’s rebellious colonists, but she has her own reasons for hating the insurgents.

Rebellion is in Flynn’s blood. Terraforming corporations make their fortune by recruiting colonists to make the inhospitable planets livable, with the promise of a better life for their children. But they never fulfilled their promise on Avon, and decades later, Flynn is leading the rebellion.

Desperate for any advantage in a bloody and unrelentingly war, Flynn does the only thing that makes sense when he and Lee cross paths: he returns to base with her as prisoner. But as his fellow rebels prepare to execute this tough-talking girl with nerves of steel, Flynn makes another choice that will change him forever. He and Lee escape the rebel base together, caught between two sides of a senseless war.

The stunning second novel in the Starbound trilogy is an unforgettable story of love and forgiveness in a world torn apart by war.

[ADD TO GOODREADS]

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

Oh, man, I ADORED These Broken Stars. It was one of my favorites from last year, and I recommend it to pretty much everyone I know. And while This Shattered World isn’t about Lilac and Tarver, I am sure I will love Flynn and Lee just as much. I can’t wait to read more in this universe!

Release Date: December 23, 2014

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #85

  1. I loved These Broken Stars as well and I’m excited to read this one as well. From early reviews, it seems like this one is even better than the first book! :)
    I hope this will live up to all your expectations!
    Lovely pick.

    Nick – My WoW

  2. Kai says:

    I am so so so excited for this book as well! These Broken Stars was an amazing read! I can’t wait to read this one as well. (Also, I looooove the cover!)

    Check out my Wow post!

  3. I also loved These Broken Stars and am excited for this next story! Can’t wait!

    My WOW

  4. The first book in this series didn’t appeal to me at all, but this one looks awesome!
    My WoW

  5. I currently have book 1 on my tbr pile and I cant wait to read it :)

    My WoW

  6. Aarati says:

    I just added this to my TBR. I did not much like These Broken Stars, but I still do want to read this one. Here’s my WoW

  7. HOLLY says:

    It’s coming out this year???? THANK GOD! I am sooo excited! :D

  8. I really did enjoy These Broken Stars and I hope This Shattered World is just as good as These Broken Stars.

    Grace @ Books of Love

  9. Awesome pick! I need to start this series.

    Happy Wednesday!

    Shane @ Itching for Books

  10. Yeah, I’m a little disappointed it doesn’t follow them, since I just loved them. :( But hey, exactly, will probably end up loving them just the same. :)

    Here’s mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

  11. hszott says:

    This looks really good! I guess I really need to get around to reading These Broken Stars.

    Hallie @ Book by Book

  12. Nemo Rosa says:

    I am so excited for this one as well! I’m holding out hope that Lilac and Tarver make an appearance

    Nemo @ Blame it on the Book

  13. Camille says:

    I’m actually still debating on whether to buy These Broken Stars and I’m still not sure at the moment although I am loving the book covers… :)

    My WoW

  14. I’m definitely pretty excited about this one, too. I also loved These Broken Stars, which was surprising because rarely do I enjoy science fiction.

  15. Laura says:

    This looks great! I hope you enjoy it as much as the first book.
    My WOW
    I also followed
    Laura

  16. Livvy @The Absent Historian says:

    I definitely need to get around to reading These Broken Stars because it looks fabulous and I have heard lots of great things. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the first one so much, hopefully that will encourage me to pick it up!

  17. I’m listening to the first one on audio right now and I’m really liking it. Good pick. Here’s mine: http://bookworm-meags222.blogspot.ca/2014/08/waiting-on-wednesday-rooms-by-lauren.html
    Happy Reading!

  18. lissiet says:

    I am excited for this one too!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

  19. Pingback: August in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

