August in Review

monthinreview

August was another good month for me blogging wise! I participated in a read-a-thon, managed to stick to a fairly consistent blogging schedule, and also started back to work. September is going to be the biggest test for me, because it was while I was trying to juggle work and reading and blogging last year that I really started to fail at everything (except work, because, you know, priorities), so we’ll see how it goes. But, anyway, here is August in Review!

BOOKS READ IN AUGUST:

starling fiendish loveletterstothedead sistersfate opheliaandthemarvelousboy

REVIEWS POSTED:

Savage Drift by Emmy Laybourne
Starling by Fiona Paul
Fiendish by Brenna Yovanoff

CURRENTLY READING:

winnerscurse fallingintoplace

OTHER NEWS AND/OR POSTS OF INTEREST:

I once again participated in Top Ten Tuesday throughout the month of August, sharing my Top Ten Books I’d Give to Readers New to Mythology Retellings, the Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read Anymore, the Top Ten Books People Tell Me I MUST Read, and the Top Ten Books I Really Want to Read but Don’t Own Yet. I also signed up for the Bout of Books 11.0 Read-A-Thon and shared my goals.

I accomplished my Bout of Books goal of reading three books, and participated in two challenges: the Book Chain and Spell It Out Challenges.

In more meme-ish news, I also participated in Waiting on Wednesday, sharing my anticipation for Hellhole by Gina Damico, The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan, This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner, and Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay.

Other posts of interest include my August TBR Pile (I strayed pretty significantly from this list, reading three of the shown titles as well as a library book that wasn’t listed), my monthly State of Me post, pictures of my classroom, my musings on secondhand embarrassment and the fact that I am a total peek-er when it comes to looking ahead in books, and also shared some of my favorite Book Photo Challenge pictures from my Tumblr and Instagram in my new weekly(ish) feature called A Week in Bookstagrams.

ANTICIPATING IN SEPTEMBER:

invisible

Other Things I’m Anticipating: What I’m most looking forward to this month is getting settled into the work swing of things and getting to know my new students! I’ve only spent a week with them so far, but I already think it’s going to be a good year. They are full of smiles and are hard workers and I just adore them already!

Goodbye, August! Hello, September!

signature2

This entry was posted in Month in Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August in Review

  1. I’m glad to hear August was a good month for you. I hope the new school year goes well for you, and that you are able to find a balance between work, blogging, and a social life. It is not an easy thing to do, but I’m so glad you are blogging again!

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

