Waiting on Wednesday #87

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for The Fall by Bethany Griffin (Greenwillow Books):

thefallMadeline Usher is doomed.

She has spent her life fighting fate, and she thought she was succeeding. Until she woke up in a coffin.

Ushers die young. Ushers are cursed. Ushers can never leave their house, a house that haunts and is haunted, a house that almost seems to have a mind of its own. Madeline’s life—revealed through short bursts of memory—has hinged around her desperate plan to escape, to save herself and her brother. Her only chance lies in destroying the house.

In the end, can Madeline keep her own sanity and bring the house down? The Fall is a literary psychological thriller, reimagining Edgar Allan Poe’s classic The Fall of the House of Usher.

[ADD TO GOODREADS]

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

I really loved Masque of the Red Death, which was Bethany Griffin’s retelling of the story with the same name. So I have faith that The Fall – which sounds amazingly creepy – will be in that same vein. Also, this comes out in October, which makes for a perfect Halloween read!

Release Date: October 7, 2014

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #87

  1. This one does sound good, and the cover is creepy. Can’t wait to read it.

  2. Crina says:

    This cover looks awesome and creepy and even I don’t usually read creepy books maybe I’ll check it out.

    My WOW: http://readingadd.blogspot.ro/2014/09/waiting-on-wednesday-winterkill-by-kate.html

  3. It does! I haven’t read Masque of the Red Death yet- so can’t wait to get my hands on this though! :)

    Here’s mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

  4. The cover is really creepy indeed. I like the summary of this book. Great WOW pick.

    Grace @ Books of Love

  5. I so agree, The Fall would be such a good Halloween read. I love creepy books, and this sounds like it’ll be really good! Great pick :)

  6. This book sounds super creepy. I really enjoyed the Masque of the Red Death duology, so I’m interested to see what this book is like.

    My WoW

  7. Veronika says:

    I really can’t wait for this book either. Ever since finding it in a WoW post I can’t wait to have it, I’ll really need to buy it immediately. :)
    Great pick!
    My WoW: http://reading-is-dreaming-with-open-eyes.blogspot.hu/2014/09/waiting-on-wednesday-12-famous-last.html

  8. Definitely sounds like a perfect Halloween read:)

  9. Bonnie @ For the Love of Words says:

    This really does sound like a great October/spooky read! I’m a huge fan of Poe so I’m intrigued by this one. Will have to check it out. :) Thanks for sharing!

    Bonnie @ For the Love of Words

  10. lissiet says:

    This looks creepy and AWESOME!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

  11. Kim says:

    I saw that all over goodreads and had to add it! I hope it is super creepy and really good, because I really wanna read it

    Here is my WoW!

  12. Pingback: September in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

