Top Ten Underrated Books in the Contemporary YA Genre

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is my Top Ten Underrated Books in the Contemporary YA Genre. I have to admit that it gave me a bit of pause initially, because I always have trouble figuring out what’s considered underrated. So I ultimately went with books that I personally really enjoyed and haven’t heard that much blogger buzz about. Because I like to have ten books on my lists, I may have cheated a bit with the last two, though, although I figure it’s my list and I can do what I want. Ha!

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

ttt62

ocdthedudeandme1) OCD, the Dude, and Me by Lauren Roedy Vaughn
This book was rather heartbreaking in its depiction of a girl with OCD and the trials and tribulations she goes through in high school. I found it poignant, eye-opening and definitely worth the read.

confessions confessions2
2) Confessions series by Louise Rozett
I have not been shy in singing the praises of this series to the sky, and yet I feel like folks still aren’t reading it. There’s so much going on here, and Rose is a true treasure to the contemporary genre. She’s real, down to earth, and a perfect example of someone just trying to find herself and figure things out. I absolutely cannot WAIT for the third book!

ifIlie3) If I Lie by Corrine Jackson
Oh, man, this book made me cry. A very real, very heartbreaking look at peer pressure and social isolation. I felt so bad for Quinn, especially once everything comes out and you understand why she did what she did. Seriously, just go read this book!

breakingbeautiful4) Breaking Beautiful by Jennifer Shaw Wolf
This was actually the first “ya contemporary” book I read that I can remember – I mostly stick to fantasy – but this was an amazing look at an abuse victim’s steps towards reclaiming her life while she tries to piece together what happened on the night her boyfriend was killed.

wherethestarsstillshine5) Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller
Okay, admittedly, when this book was released, I heard a lot of buzz. And now, nothing. For me personally it took me a while to warm up to our main character in this book, but I ultimately was really touched by her story, even when she made some choices I definitely didn’t agree with.

theoryofeverything6) The Theory of Everything by Kari Luna
This one is sort of borderline contemporary, because there’s some string theory stuff going on as well as talking shaman pandas, but whatever, I’m going with it. This is another case of a “weird” girl protagonist, but I’m mostly reccing it for her amazing best friend. This one was just cute and fun while still being poignant in places, which is exactly how I like my YA contemps!

alsoknownas7) Also Known As by Robin Benway
This one MIGHT be pushing it a bit on the “underrated” front, but I feel like the author’s first book – Audrey, Wait! – still gets more press. Also Known As is charming and fun and I loved Maggie’s spirit and spunk. I think you will, too!

mehimthemandit8) Me, Him, Them, and It by Caela Carter
Another one that had a difficult protagonist to love, but a very real look at teenage pregnancy and fact that things just aren’t nice and neat and easy when dealing with a decision about what to do when you’re hit with something so unexpected and unplanned.

loveletterstothedead9) Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira
Okay, this one’s newer – it released earlier this year – and has actually gotten a fair amount of press. It’s also a book that may not work for everyone because of its style, but I personally found it a pretty emotional read, and loved the way the story from the past was weaved into the present.

fallingintoplace10) Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang
Talk about a new release – this one comes out tomorrow – but I was lucky enough to get an e-galley and just finished this one this weekend. And I really liked it, even though it’s told nonlinearly  and has another of those not-so-likable protagonists. And lots of point of views. But it just really worked for me, and is a fabulous addition to the genre, so on the list it goes!

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1 So that’s my list this week! What topic did you do? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Top Ten Underrated Books in the Contemporary YA Genre

  1. ChrissiReads says:

    Brilliant list. I really want to read a lot of these books. I do love a contemporary and you’ve featured many amazing looking books!

  2. I loved Also Known As! Definitely need to read the sequel.

  3. Cait says:

    I definitely think a lot of these are underrated, but I hear about Falling into Place EVERYWHERE at the moment!! I think it’s getting a fair hype. I always get bothered, though, when books get this seriously awesome buzz…and then it dies out and no one seems to review it. It’s sad! I love books! I want to see the hype turn into happy reviews. *sigh* Here’s my TTT!

  4. Haha, It is your blog, and you can make your TTTs however you want :)

    Excellent choice on OCD, The Dude, and Me. I wish I remembered that one. And I understand why you are including Also Known As. Although I do see a decent amount of bloggers talking about Robin Benway, I feel like elsewhere it’s not known so well. I know lots of librarians aren’t as familiar with Robin Benway.

  5. Rachel says:

    If I Lie has been on my wishlist for a while, and I’ve seen a lot about Falling Into Place lately, so maybe your bookish prayers are being answered??? Lol. There’s a couple on here that look really good, going to go check them out and grow that TBR!!

    R x

    My TTT:http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/09/09/top-ten-tuesday-underrated-books/

  6. I wish I could have loved Falling into place like everyone else. It just didn’t work for me.. Love letters to the dead is on my wish list though, sounds like a good story.

    Mel@thedailyprophecy

  7. Alisa Selene says:

    I really liked Also Known As! :)

  8. Pingback: September in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

