REVIEW: Sisters’ Fate by Jessica Spotswood

sistersfateSisters’ Fate
(Cahill Witch Chronicles #3)
by Jessica Spotswood

Putnam Juvenile, 2014
[Goodreads] [Book Depository]

Previous Installments: Born Wicked | Star Cursed

NOTE: Summary contains spoilers for the previous books in this series!

A fever ravages New London, but with the Brotherhood sending suspected witches straight to the gallows, the Sisters are powerless against the disease. They can’t help without revealing their powers—as Cate learns when a potent display of magic turns her into the most wanted witch in all of New England.

To make matters worse, Cate has been erased from the memory of her beloved Finn. While she’s torn between protecting him from further attacks and encouraging him to fall for her all over again, she’s certain she can never forgive Maura’s betrayal. And now that Tess’s visions have taken a deadly turn, the prophecy that one Cahill sister will murder another looms ever closer to its fulfillment.

mythoughtsAfter reading Star Cursed, book two in this series, I was really nervous to see how the author was going to wrap this series up. The ending of that one showed she could be cruel – it nearly broke my heart – but I also loved that it also probably meant we’d be in for a wild ride in Sisters’ Fate where the reader wouldn’t really be able to guess what was going to happen. And I was right: Sisters’ Fate was a rollercoaster ride from start to finish, but one I thoroughly enjoyed being on. I was also extremely satisfied with how this universe ended, and am really glad I stayed with the series after not loving the first book as much as I’d wanted.

Much of this book is about the Cahill sisters’ drama – and I mean that in a good way, because it was well-developed, tension-filled, interesting drama – and the resulting fallout from what Maura did at the end of Star Cursed and its impact on Cate’s already-dwindling sisterly emotion towards her.  Tess likewise has a lot going on – which we’re not really privy to until towards the end of the book – and then there is Cate, who is once again our narrator. I really felt for her in this book – she’s lost something important, is struggling with what that means for her and her sisters, and it’s also pretty obvious that the prophecy about the Cahill sisters is coming closer to fruition. There’s also drama within the Sisterhood itself, with Inez becoming the new leader and Cate’s distrust towards her and dislike of what Inez did to the leaders of the Brotherhood. (Vagueness is vague, I know, but I don’t want to spoil unnecessarily!) I really felt like Cate went through a lot of growth in this book, and I found her to be stronger and more capable than before.

I also really loved the way this book flowed. Everything was gearing up towards the final climax – which I have to admit I totally didn’t see coming, at least in terms of how the prophecy played out – and there was so much drama and intrigue and second-guessing going on that it just made me sort of clutch at the book insanely. There was so much going on here – the drama with the Sisterhood, the fallout from Maura, the fever sweeping the commoners, Tess’ weird goings-ons – that there was certainly never a dull moment. I also loved getting to know some of the side characters a bit better as well, and particularly enjoyed Alice and the way she played into the story.

All in all, I have zero complaints about the finale to this trilogy, and that’s not always something I can say. Sisters’ Fate wrapped things up nicely – but not neatly – and I really loved the character development AND the fact that we got to see a whole lot of witchery from the girls. The drama made this a “I must finish this now!”-sort of book, and I loved the way everything played out to keep me on the edge of my seat. This one was definitely worth the wait; I can’t wait to see what Ms. Spotswood writes next!

4stars

signature2

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to REVIEW: Sisters’ Fate by Jessica Spotswood

  1. therealrene says:

    Follow my Blog? I do reviews on Rock n Roll Autobiographies and more…

    therealrene.wordpress.com

  2. Livvy @The Absent Historian says:

    I am pleased to hear that you managed to enjoy the final instalment of this series so much, Merin! I think it is always disappointing when you read a series and find that the last book lets you down. However this sounds like it is a series that strengthens as it goes along. Great review!

  3. Pingback: September in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

