Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday post asks us to list the Top Ten Books That Were Hard for Me to Read. I choose to look at this a couple of ways: the book had difficult subject matter, so it hit me hard personally, or the book just plain old took me forever to finish for whatever reason (slow writing, lack of interest, etc.). I also want to state upfront that a couple of these books were actually DNFs, but figured that in itself made them able to make the list, so I’mma go with it.

Off we go!

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

ttt64banner

noughtsandcrosses1) Noughts & Crosses by Malorie Blackman
This book made me so darn uncomfortable that I just couldn’t finish it. I know that that was its purpose – to make you see how wrong a society like this is (and was, because it’s basically a reverse look at slavery) – but I just couldn’t bring myself to read the whole thing.

feed2) Feed by M.T. Anderson
Ugh, this book. I just did not like it! The main character was lacking in so many ways and I just found myself annoyed with the entire setup. This was another DNF.

chocolatewar3) The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier
This was another book that made me brutally uncomfortable – again its intended purpose – although I did manage to make it all the way through. I just will never be reading it again!

stepfromheaven4)  A Step from Heaven by An Na
So much going on in this book, and I just felt so badly for the main character throughout. Definitely – for me – an emotional and heart-wrenching read.

ifIlie5) If I Lie by Corrine Jackson
I felt terribly for Quinn and was so angry at the others for treating her the way they were throughout this book. Parts of this made me teary-eyed, too, so there was lots of setting this aside in order to get myself back together.

midnightinthegarden6) Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt
Ugh, this book. I really didn’t like it, and it took me FOREVER to read.

heroindiaries7) The Heroin Diaries by Nikki Sixx
This first-person narrative of what it’s like to be in the throes of an extremely dangerous heroin addiction is pretty much the epitome of hard to get through. Nikki Sixx is one lucky  dude to still be alive!

hungergames8) The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
I feel like the only person in existence who didn’t like this book. But I just can’t wrap my head around children killing children, and – while I get while others like the books – they’re just too much for me personally.

timetravelerswife9) The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
This book KILLED me. Not only was it hard to get through emotionally, but it also took me forever to read, with the narrative jumps and the style used to tell the story.

thisisnotatest10) This is Not A Test by Courtney Summers
Courtney Summers is sort of known for having difficult books, but this apocalyptic zombie thriller featured one of the most depressed main characters I’ve ever encountered, and just broke my heart.

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

So that’s my list this week! What made your top ten? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read

  1. ChrissiReads says:

    I’ve always been intrigued by This Is Not A Test. I didn’t realise it was so heart-breaking!

  2. readingbifrost says:

    The Hunger Games is on my list, too. I made it through the series, but, augh.

  3. Rachana says:

    Although I personally enjoyed the Hunger Games – I understand your point of view. I haven’t read any of the other books mentioned in the post but still very interesting :)

  4. I enjoyed THG, but I kind of felt bad about enjoying it. I think I’ve been desensitised. I think it’s admirable that something like that made you very uncomfortable (my sister is the same way).
    I haven’t read any of the others but this is the first time I’ve heard of A Step From Heaven. I really want to read it as I’ve only ever read one book with a Korean protagonist!

  5. Cait says:

    I still want to read The Time Traveller’s Wife…but I AM PREPARING MY EMOTIONS. *dons armour* The Hunger Games is an incredibly sad and horrible book, with the kids killing kids…but that’s kind of the point. Still, it makes me hopelessly sad every time I reread it. :(
    Here’s my TTT!

  6. Liesel Hill says:

    HG is definitely brutal, but I liked it. I never tried to read The Time Traveler’s Wife, but I really liked the film. If it was anything like the book, I’d probably like it. Great list. Thanks for sharing it. :D My TTT

  7. I hated Feed, too!!! I had to read it for a YA lit class in library school. I’ve seen If I Lie on a lot of lists, too. I haven’t read that yet, but I do want to.

    • Merin says:

      I read Feed for a class for my Master’s, too! God, what a terrible book, seriously. And so many other folks just loved it, so I definitely felt like the odd man out!

      And I think you’d really like If I Lie. The main character even shares your name!

  8. Rachel says:

    I LOVE Time Traveller’s Wife, though admittedly it was a slower read. If you can, I’d highly recommend finishing Noughts and Crosses, it is heartbreaking, but it’s one of my favourite books ever!

  9. Pingback: September in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

