Ten Books for Readers Who Like Character-Driven Novels

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday post asked us to list Ten Books for Readers Who Like Character-Driven Novels. I actually initially had a hard time with this topic, because my mind immediately went “oh, contemporaries,” which I don’t read a whole lot of. So I did some digging through my Goodreads (with the help of a Goodreads’ list I found via Googling), and then realized that it didn’t necessarily mean it HAD to be a contemporary book, and was able to put the list together. I also tried to mix in a variety of genres, just to keep the list from getting boring. Hopefully all of these books work!

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

ttt66

graceling

1) Graceling by Kristin Cashore

ordinarymagic

2) Ordinary Magic by Caitlen Rubino-Bradway

shadowandbone

3) Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

wherethestarsstillshine

4) Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller

graveyardbook

5) The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

prisonerofnightandfog

6) Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman

impossible

7) Impossible by Nancy Werlin

lightningthief

8) The Lightning Thief (and subsequent books) by Rick Riordan

darkestminds

9) The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

ifIlie

10) If I Lie by Corrine Jackson

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

So that’s my list! Which books made yours this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ten Books for Readers Who Like Character-Driven Novels

  1. ChrissiReads says:

    I really liked Prisoner of Night and Fog. I thought it was an incredibly powerful read. I’m really looking forward to starting The Darkest Minds series!

  2. eisyasofia says:

    Hi. I’m not familiar with most books but good choice. I’ve read Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere and would love to explore more of his works.

    Feel free to visit my post:
    http://ssreaderscorner.wordpress.com/2014/10/07/ten-books-for-readers-who-like-character-driven-novels/

  3. I loved Graceling and the Graveyard book. the rest of your list sounds like they are certainly character driven. Have a nice week! kelley—the road goes ever ever on

  4. The Darkest Minds was so intensely gorgeous. Following Ruby’s journey and seeing her struggles :( GAH. Heart-breaking. In The Afterlight is going to be insane!

  5. HOLLY says:

    I loved Graceling and the Lightning Thief! The characters are so unique and developed. Great list! :)

  6. AHHH Graceling is one of my all time favorite books so it makes me so happy to see this on your list! I love Katsa and Po!! <3 <3 And If I Lie was wonderful (it made me cry) so I love to see it getting more attention! GREAT LIST! :)

    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert

  7. amshuman says:

    Graceling was an interesting read. I still need to read Where the Stars Still Shine, it’s been on my TBR list forever.

    My TTT

  8. moonglint says:

    I considered listing Graceland, Katsa and Po really drove that novel.
    My TTT

  9. Brandy says:

    Where the Stars Still Shine is a great choice! Callie has such a wonderful character arc.

    My TTT

  10. I’ve seen Graceling on a lot of lists, today. I should really read that one. I almost listed Percy Jackson, too, because the characters in those books (especially Percy!) really make the series fabulous!

  11. Rachel says:

    Couple of books here on my TBR, and some I’ve bought and plan to get to. Been debating Graceling for a little while now, it’s a recent edition to my thinking-about-it-list!

    My TTT: http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/10/07/top-ten-tuesday-character-driven-novels/

  12. Alisa Selene says:

    I agree Neil Gaiman’s work tends to be really character driven!

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

