REVIEW: Invisible by Dawn Metcalf

invisibleInvisible (The Twixt #2)
by Dawn Metcalf

Harlequin Teen, 2014
[Goodreads] [Book Depository]

Previous Installment: Indelible

Some things lie beneath the surface.

Invisible.

With the power to change everything.

Joy Malone wants it all—power, freedom and the boyfriend who loves her. Yet when an unstoppable assassin is hired to kill her, Joy learns that being the girl with the Sight comes with a price that might be too high to pay. Love will be tested, lives will be threatened, and everyone Joy knows and cares about will be affected by her decision to stand by Ink or to leave the Twixt forever.

Her choice is balanced on a scalpel’s edge and the consequences will be more life-altering than anyone can guess.

mythoughtsWhile I know that the first book in this series, Indelible, didn’t get spectacular reviews across the blogosphere, I personally really enjoyed it and was extremely excited to read the sequel. There was something extremely charming about the romance between Joy and Ink, and I loved the look into the fascinating world of the Twixt. Invisible picks up pretty shortly after Indelible ended, and basically continues the story, with a lot of danger and intrigue thrown in to make things exciting. Of course, with this danger and intrigue also comes drama – unfortunately in the form of tension between Joy and Ink – and some poor decision-making on the part of Joy as well, so for a bit while I was reading I was really concerned about my final feelings for the book. But I was pleasantly surprised at how things resolved themselves – not neatly and nicely, because this is only the second book in a planned four-book series – but in a way I can live with that creates some nice anticipation for the upcoming third book.

I am a big fan of this series’ main characters. Joy is a delight – very real, very down to earth, and I love her determination and snark and wit. Her friendship with best friend Monica is wonderful to read – and I loved the nod to Monica being a person of color, which isn’t often addressed in YA, especially her issues with her boyfriend Gordon and her reasoning for said issues – and while both ladies ventured far and wide from their “no stupid” motto in this book, I like that they ground each other and truly care about each other. So often girlfriends are set aside for the book’s love interest and I just love that that doesn’t happen in this series. Of course, books aren’t good if they don’t have some sort of tension, and that tension comes in the form of a Red Knight who is trying to kill Joy. Throughout the book, Joy makes a series of bad mistakes – culminating in a big fight between Ink and Joy that really hurt my heart a lot – and while I was cringing at her choices and yelling at her through my Kindle, I still liked her and I got why she was doing what she was doing, even if I didn’t like it.

And Ink. OH, Ink. He continues to be a massive charmer, especially as he works to become more human, more like Joy. His emotions were so real and true in this book – and good grief, I’m not sure I’m going to survive it if he and Joy ever take their relationship to the next step because the little pieces that we got here were scorching hot – and I felt so badly for him as he tried to figure out who he was and what he wanted. His love for Joy is palpable, and I hated that it changed him so much, but at the same time was glad to see it did, because that’s what love does. Ink and Joy’s relationship just feels so real to me, and I absolutely adore the way it’s written out for us to read.

All in all, I was very pleased with Invisible and will definitely continue to read this series. The romance is charming and wondrous and amazing to read about, Joy has a (usually) level head on her shoulders, and I really love the unique and diverse supporting cast of characters. There was enough drama and adventure to balance out the romance, as well, and the story kept me thoroughly engaged and on the edge of my seat once the action ratcheted up. While I totally get that this series isn’t for everyone, I for one wholeheartedly recommend it. If you’re at all intrigued, do give it a try!

4stars

An e-galley was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

signature2

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to REVIEW: Invisible by Dawn Metcalf

  1. Pingback: MINI-REVIEW: Insidious by Dawn Metcalf | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

