Top Ten Books/Movies to Read/Watch To Get in the Halloween Spirit

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic asked us to list the Top Ten Books and/or Movies to Read or Watch  to Get in the Halloween Spirit. I don’t actually watch a lot of typical Halloween movies – I’m a bit of a wimp – but I do have a couple that I consistently watch, and some books that would fit into the spirit of the month as well. So most of this list consists of books, with a few movies thrown in as well!

Off we go!

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

ttt68banner

ttt68b

arsenicandoldlace1) Arsenic and Old Lace

clue2) Clue

nightmarebeforechristmas3) The Nightmare Before Christmas

hocuspocus4) Hocus Pocus

ttt68a

midnightdress5) The Midnight Dress by Karen Foxlee

graveyardbook6) The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

somethingstrange7) Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

phantom8) Phantom by Laura DeLuca

coraline9) Coraline by Neil Gaiman

thespacebetween10) The Space Between by Brenna Yovanoff

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1So that’s my (perhaps atypical) Halloween read/watch list! Which books or movies made yours? Please link me!

signature2

 

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Top Ten Books/Movies to Read/Watch To Get in the Halloween Spirit

  1. Anne says:

    I’m glong to have to check out some of these books. My TTT List for Halloween

  2. ChrissiReads says:

    I absolutely love Hocus Pocus! It’s such a good movie. I’ve had some trouble this week as I’m a bit of a wimp as well! ;)

  3. I have Hocus Pocus and The Graveyard Book on my list too. :) Great list!

  4. Lucy says:

    I adore Clue and The Nightmare Before Christmas. Great choices!

  5. Excellent choices, Merin! I love Arsenic and Old Lace and Hocus Pocus! And CLUE! Anything with Tim Curry in it is perfect for Halloween!

  6. Clue is such a fun movie to watch! I’m also pretty sure I’ve seen the movie more times than I’ve actually played the board game haha.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  7. Hocus Pocus and Nightmare Before Christmas are the best! I really liked The Paper Valentine by Yovanoff but did not like FIendish so I have been putting off The Space Between!

  8. Okay, we could be twins where the movies are concerned! Arsenic and Old Lace is one of my favorite movies! And I’ve got to admit I’ve never associated it with Halloween, I always just watch it whenever, but now that I think about it…”You look like Boris Karloff” Yeah…it should be a movie I watch every Halloween!

    As for Hocus Pocus I’ve seen it twice already this week. Why not right?!

    I would put Clue in the same category as Arsenic in that I watch it whenever.

    Nightmare Before Christmas is a def favorite of mine, but I tend to associate it more with Christmas-time than Halloween. And living in NYC, as I do, I can occasionally find the movie playing in some movie theater around Halloween time so I’m lucky enough to have seen it on the big screen more than the average person!

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

