Waiting on Wednesday #94

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas (HarperTeen):

awickedthingRhiannon Thomas’s dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after happily ever after.

One hundred years after falling asleep, Princess Aurora wakes up to the kiss of a handsome prince and a broken kingdom that has been dreaming of her return. All the books say that she should be living happily ever after. But as Aurora understands all too well, the truth is nothing like the fairy tale.

Her family is long dead. Her “true love” is a kind stranger. And her whole life has been planned out by political foes while she slept.

As Aurora struggles to make sense of her new world, she begins to fear that the curse has left its mark on her, a fiery and dangerous thing that might be as wicked as the witch who once ensnared her. With her wedding day drawing near, Aurora must make the ultimate decision on how to save her kingdom: marry the prince or run.

Rhiannon Thomas weaves together vivid scenes of action, romance, and gorgeous gowns to reveal a richly imagined world … and Sleeping Beauty as she’s never been seen before.

[ADD TO GOODREADS]

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

Um, this one pretty much had me at “reimagining of Sleeping Beauty” seeing as I’m a sucker for fairy tale retellings! I love that the summary hints at something dark and dangerous, which is reminiscent of the original fairy tales of old. I can’t wait to see how she’s taken the classic tale and (hopefully) twisted it a bit to make it nicely original.

Release Date: February 24, 2015

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #94

  1. dsuzuki says:

    I have this one on my tbr list too! Here’s my pick.

  2. Sinamen says:

    I love the cover. Here is my pick. http://bit.ly/1DuAIuL

  3. Exactly, really glad it doesn’t sound all Disney-ish and happy ever after. Such a gorgeous cover too. ;)

    Here’s mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

  4. kimberlyfaye says:

    I am really excited about this book, too. I have a copy, I just need to find time to get to it!

    My WoW!

  5. Haha. Yep, this had me at “reimagining of Sleping Beauty” too! I love those fairytale retellings!

  6. haha, me too! Sleeping Beauty is my favorite of all the tales, so as soon as I saw that name, I was like, where do I buy?! lol. I do hope they get nice and dark with it all. Great pick!!

    This week my WoW is Breaking the Rules!

  7. This book sounds great. I’m just getting into the fairytale re-telling stories and I’ll have to add this to my TBR list.
    Here is my WOW post.

  8. I have an ARC of this one, I can’t wait to read it! I absolutely love retellings and I have yet to read a Sleeping Beauty one, so I’m hoping this is good.
    -Jon from Bookish Antics!

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

