State of Merin

stateofmerin

Ack, how did it get to be December already? In two weeks and a couple days we’ll be breaking for Winter Break – two whole weeks off! – but that also means that the bane of my existence is coming up due: REPORT CARDS. I HATE doing report cards, particularly writing the comments for all 20 of my students. I can think of several things I’d rather do instead, let’s just put it that way. Ha.

I know my blog was a little light on non-meme content last month – November was just as busy as October with work stuff and it was seriously kicking my butt – but I’m going to work really hard to end the year with a bang. I am almost done with the book I’ve been reading (for far too long, sigh) and will be participating in the Trees of Reverie Read-A-Thon which starts Saturday and runs for a week, and am hoping to get at least three books read during that. We’ll see how it goes; report cards means lots of assessments that need to get done and I also have GOT to catch up on my grading so I can get the grades in the gradebook. So much to do, so little time!

I have been thinking about my blog and what I want to do with it next year, in terms of making sure I have fresh content and don’t fall into the several months break I wound up taking last year. I still am not good with balancing my reading with my work – I think I’ve been pretty upfront about that, and the fact that it sometimes takes me a stupid amount of time to read a book just reinforces that – and I’m honestly not sure that’s ever going to change until I have an extended break off work. So, you know, summer. Ha. People who say teachers have it easy are just nuts. Teaching isn’t for the weak, that’s for sure!

That being said, I am going to attempt to keep to my posting new content four days a week schedule, including at least one review a week. Of course, I’m going to have to up my reading; I don’t think reading 25 books in 2015 is going to cut it, and I really would like to manage more. At least 50, but that means a book a week, and again, see above re: the whole balancing work with reading. Anyway, if nothing else it’s something to work towards, right?

signature2

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to State of Merin

  1. Pingback: December in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

