Waiting on Wednesday #100

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for Illusionarium by Heather Dixon (Greenwillow Books):

illusionariumFrom the author of the acclaimed Entwined, a wholly original fantasy starring a dashing young apprentice scientist drawn into a world of adventure, fame, rebellion, and illusion. A dazzling journey that combines the evocative atmosphere of Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus with the sparkling wit of Gail Carriger’s Etiquette & Espionage.

Jonathan is perfectly ordinary. But then—those magic words at the beginning of every good adventure—the king swoops into port, and Jonathan and his father are enlisted to find the cure to a deadly plague. Jonathan discovers that he’s a prodigy at working with a new chemical called fantillium, which creates shared hallucinations—or illusions. And just like that, he’s knocked off his path. Through richly developed parallel worlds, vivid action, a healthy dose of humor, and gorgeous writing, Heather Dixon spins a story that is breathtaking and wholly original.

[ADD TO GOODREADS]

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

I’ve had this author’s first book, Entwined, on my to-read list for ages, and have heard nothing but good things about it. This one sounds interesting – I like the idea of a hallucinogenic drug that the people are seemingly taking to escape their reality (assuming I’m reading this correctly) and also like the idea of possible parallel worlds. Plus anything that is compared to The Night Circus gets my attention straight away, considering how much I loved that book. Plus, look at that gorgeous cover! How am I supposed to resist that?

Release Date: May 19, 2015

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #100

  1. It’s my first time to come across this book and it sounds really good. It looks like steampunk and magic–some of my recent favorite book ingredients!

    Here’s my Wednesday post.

  2. LexieLäser says:

    Loving the cover and it sounds like a book I would enjoy :)

  3. Even just the cover is beautiful! I hope you’ll be able to read it soon, Merin :)

    Here’s my WoW for this week.

    Happy reading.

  4. Haven’t read Entwined either, and though I haven’t read The Night Circus yet either (I do own it) really looking forward to this one, and the cover is gorgeous so win-win. ;)

    Here’s mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

  5. I haven’t read Entwined, but this one sounds wonderful! And I really like the cover as well.
    I hope you get to read this as soon as it comes out :)

  6. I currently have this one in my tbr pile. I should be getting to it soon.Hope you get your hands on it soon.

    here’s mine And as always, my $30 gift certificate giveaway is still on.

  7. readsbymandm says:

    Your blog is stunning! – Maria @readsbymandm

  8. ljennison says:

    The book sounds wonderful. Added it to my TBR list. Thanks for sharing it.
    My WoW

  9. fixnfunxn says:

    this looks like it’s going to be an interesting read! thinking about adding it to my own TBR list.

    happy reading!
    danee @ Fiction Function

  10. Bonnie @ For the Love of Words says:

    I haven’t read Entwined either but it’s also on my TBR. This one does sound fantastic. Great pick and thanks for sharing!

    Bonnie @ For the Love of Words

  11. With that full blurb talking hallucinogens and parallell worlds, it is hard to resist. And a friend of mine totally gushed about The Ngiht Circus. So I’m looking forward to this as well. =)
    My WoW

  12. Pingback: December in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

