REVIEW: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

dreamthievesThe Dream Thieves
(The Raven Cycle #2)

by Maggie Stiefvater
Scholastic, 2013
[Goodreads] [Book Depository]

Previous Installment: The Raven Boys

Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same.

Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life.

Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…

mythoughtsUpon finishing The Raven Boys, I immediately began listening to The Dream Thieves. While I think I could have easily made it through reading this installment, I loved the audio version of the first book so much that I decided to listen to the second one as well. And I once again was not disappointed. Will Patton does an amazing job with the audiobooks for this series, which is strong praise coming from me because I am not really an audiobook kind of gal. But I can definitely say that I think listening to the audio version of The Dream Thieves actually improved my overall enjoyment, and considering how much I loved the story itself that’s really saying something. If you are curious about this series, I’d highly recommend checking it out in its audio format. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

The Dream Thieves is the kind of book that sort of leaves me in a quandary because I don’t know how to review it. It’s funny how much easier I find reviewing books I only liked as opposed to those I loved. It’s also difficult to review this book in particular because I don’t want to spoil anything should there still be folks out there who haven’t read them. I loved all the twists and turns that Maggie Stiefvater threw at me as I read, and wouldn’t want to take away the surprise, because that’s part of what made this book so great. I loved that we had new characters introduced, and also that we got massive amounts of Ronan point of view, because he pretty much made this book. I found myself hurting with him and for him and just hoping he’d come to realize how awesome he really is. I liked how the story regarding Cabeswater and Glendower couldn’t really move forward until Ronan did. And I mostly loved his character development and growth and the way he changed throughout the story. And also his devotion and friendship with Gansey, because I think it’s something truly special.

Speaking of Gansey, I am completely entranced by his non-relationship with Blue, and the way things developed between them. Their story just breaks my heart because I don’t see how we can possibly get a happy ending here, and yet I want one so badly. I love that he’s just honestly trying to do the right thing for everyone involved and yes, he makes mistakes, but he’s such a good guy and I hate it when people get upset at him for not understanding where they’re coming from or doing something they don’t like (or assuming he’s done something they don’t like). Gansey is from such a different world than the other boys – even Ronan – and I sometimes feel like Blue – and especially Adam – view that as a bad thing. And most of all I liked his conversation with Blue about being rich in love because of their families. That just made me happy and yet so freaking sad at the same time because God, Gansey. I don’t know if he could be any more perfect. He and Blue just make my heart hurt.

And I don’t even want to TALK about that moment between Blue and Noah. Just … nope. Can’t do it. Also? Totally didn’t see myself rooting for a hitman, so well done Maggie for making me root for a so-called “bad” guy!

All in all, The Dream Thieves was everything I wanted and more for a sequel to The Raven Boys. While I’m sure more heartbreak is on the horizon for me with book three, I can honestly say bring it on. I will simply continue to hope for an ending that thus far seems out of reach, and continue to cry over fictional characters. Which is pretty much par for the course where I’m concerned!

5stars

signature2

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to REVIEW: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. I really enjoyed the audiobooks, too. And I agree, it is so hard to review books that you end up loving. I am fascinated with Gansey’s non-relationship with Blue, too. Actually I’m really just fascinated with Gansey. :)

  2. Pingback: January in Review | Read and Reviewed

  3. Pingback: REVIEW: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

