Ten Books I’d Love to Read If I Had A Book Club

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday post deals with Book Clubs, which I surprisingly have never participated in. I’ve done some informal read-alongs with various folks (looking at you, Lauren!), but an actual book club that meets monthly/whenever? Nope. Still, the idea of this topic was kind of intriguing, and actually made me think about which books I’d love to read with others. So here’s my list of Ten Books I’d Love to Read If I Had A Book Club!

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

ttt78

twilight1) Twilight (and sequels) by Stephenie Meyer
I’m not even gonna lie; I’d want to read this one just to have others to snark with! And then we could watch the first movie together and laugh when Edward calls Bella “spider monkey”. :D

ravenboys2) The Raven Boys (and sequels) by Maggie Stiefvater
I was slow to get on board the bandwagon with this series – I actually didn’t make it through The Raven Boys until I listened to it on audio – but now that I’m on Blue Lily, Lily Blue, I just want ALL the people to talk about Blue and her Raven Boys with. So much love!

thesebrokenstars3) These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
THIS BOOK! I’d want to read it with others just to watch everyone swoon over Tarver and Lilac and their pure awesomeness! Plus, you know, space ships and hidden planets and secrets in space! Yes!

cinderscarletcress
4) The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
I read two of the three of these with Lauren and had a ton of fun doing it. I liked having someone to talk to about the way the fairytales were twisted and turned, and also liked having someone to gush over the girls (and guys) with. Lauren, we need to read Cress!

throneofglasscrownofmidnightheiroffire
5) The Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas
I’ve read Throne of Glass but not the other two. I would have loved to have another book fanatic reading Throne of Glass with me, so we could squee over all the bookish quotes about libraries and things. And also my love for Chaol.

thissongwillsaveyourlife6) This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales
I’ve heard amazing things about this one, and I just think it would be a great book to read with other likeminded folks.

ocdlovestory7) OCD Love Story by Corey Ann Haydu
I’ve heard that this one is kind of crazy, so I think it would be a good one to read with others so you’d have someone to talk to about it when you finish!

gonegirl8) Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
And speaking of crazy, this one probably takes the cake, no?

skyiseverywhere9) The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
I’ve heard so many amazing things about this book, from the amount of feels it gives the readers to the emotional impact it leaves you with. Any book that’s going to leave me thinking about it for ages afterwards would be perfect for a book club!

codenameverity10) Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
I’ve been wanting to read this one for forever, but it’s rather daunting. I think reading it for a book club might help me get over that hump!

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

So those are my books for this week! Which ones made your list? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Ten Books I’d Love to Read If I Had A Book Club

  1. Gone Girl is the book you just have to discuss with someone when you finish it. This past summer my friend came on vacation with our family and he and my mom were both reading it. My mom finished first and then both of us were on him to finish it so we could talk about it without spoiling anything!

    One of my book clubs discussed Code Name Verity. I found the first half hard to get through, even though I eventually loved the book, but most people didn’t seem to mind all the technical jargon that bogged me down. We had a good discussion about it.

  2. OCD Love Story is so good! And I’m in the middle of These Broken Stars right now!

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    Brilliant list. I really want to read OCD Love Story. It looks great. I think Gone Girl is definitely a book to explore with a book club!

  4. Oh, your list is so good :]

    Added OCD Love Story to my TBR :]

  5. Nice choices! I chose The Raven Boys too because we could spend hours discussing just one character. I love that series!
    My TTT

  6. Nikki says:

    Oooooh, YES! These Broken Stars!! That’d be a great book club pick. Super fun overall, but also FEELS, and LILAC AND TARVERRRR, and also great potential for some more serious discussion topics. Same with the sequel!

  7. Read the other two ToG books. Seriously. READ THEM RIGHT NOW BECAUSE OH MY GOD THEY ARE THE MOST AWESOME THINGS

  8. HOLLY says:

    Gone Girl would be such an awesome book club read! It would be so cool to hear everyone’s predictions and feelings about it as you were reading it. Twilight would be really fun as well, haha! :)
    My TTT: http://nutfreenerd.com/2015/01/27/top-ten-tuesday-books-id-like-to-read-with-a-book-club/

  9. Code Name Verity was a fantastic read and its sequel/spin-off, Rose Under Fire, was great as well. I highly recommend both books and I hope that you get to pick up the titles in this list soon. Great list! :)

  10. Danica Page says:

    Great list! You definitely named some of my absolute favorites.

    Great list. In specific, I think that I was Here (anything Foreman) would be a great pick. Thanks for sharing. Thanks for sharing.

    I accidentally did next week’s post on accident, but still check it out please. mine’s here

  11. We have some books in common! The Raven Boys and Code Name Verity. And it would be fun to discuss Twilight (seriously that spider monkey line is sooo creeptastic). But I wouldn’t want the whole discussion to be dissing Twilight. I don’t like all the negativity surrounding that book. Not that everyone needs to love it, but that people need to be fair in the discussion. Being snarky about the movie is a whole other matter though. :)

  12. I’m currently reading These Broken Stars and OHMYGOD SO GOOD! Let’s not even go into The Lunar Chronicles and The Throne of Glass series!

    By the way, I just started my blog so it’d be cook if you can check it out and follow it if you enjoy it :)

  13. Pingback: January in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

