REVIEW: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

athousandpiecesofyouA Thousand Pieces of You
(Firebird #1) by Claudia Gray

HarperTeen, 2014
[Goodreads] [Book Depository]

Every Day meets Cloud Atlas in this heart-racing, space- and time-bending, epic new trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray.

Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their radical scientific achievements. Their most astonishing invention: the Firebird, which allows users to jump into parallel universes, some vastly altered from our own. But when Marguerite’s father is murdered, the killer—her parent’s handsome and enigmatic assistant Paul—escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite can’t let the man who destroyed her family go free, and she races after Paul through different universes, where their lives entangle in increasingly familiar ways. With each encounter she begins to question Paul’s guilt—and her own heart. Soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is more sinister than she ever could have imagined.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores a reality where we witness the countless other lives we might lead in an amazingly intricate multiverse, and ask whether, amid infinite possibilities, one love can endure.

mythoughtsI will admit that I was initially drawn to A Thousand Pieces of You because of the amazingly gorgeous cover. I requested it from the library and waited (im)patiently for it to finally be my turn to check it out, and then proceeded to wait almost two weeks to read it while I struggled through my previous book. And I was actually going to hold off for a tad longer, but then the book I WAS reading just failed to do a whole lot to me, so I picked it up on a whim to see if maybe it might work better. And oh My GOODNESS did it ever! Once I started reading it, I only took breaks to go to bed and eat because it was that good. I loved how different it was – hurrah sci-fi without the space, and multi-dimensions and an awesome female lead character AND a mystery – and can safely say that I am 100% glad I read it instead of waiting. This is definitely one of the best ones I’ve read so far this year!

First off, I have to say that I am not the hugest fan of sci-fi books in general, and while this one has some science – Marguerite’s parents are both physicists and she’s surrounded by others who are like-minded and equally intelligent – it doesn’t overwhelm you even when the book makes reference to scientific jargon. I had an easy time following the specifics that made multi-verse travel possible, probably because the story is told via Marguerite, who is NOT a scientific genius, but an artist. Either way, it worked. I also loved the idea of leaping into the body of your own “self” in that other dimension and essentially being thrust into their lives. The whole idea of this book was amazingly well thought out and constructed and I absolutely loved every minute of it.

I have to say that my favorite “life” of Marguerite was definitely the one as the Grand Duchess, although it also hurt my heart a lot because of how impossible everything was for Marguerite and beau. I also found myself loving that world’s version of Paul; steadfast and true and so in love with her that it put stars in my eyes. Everyone should have a love like that, and I’m glad that both of them got to experience it. Just … yes. ♥

There was also plenty of action and adventure and double-crossing and “who can I trust” and a very edge of your seat pace that I loved and kept me thoroughly engrossed. A Thousand Pieces of You had SO much to offer a reader, including an OMG moment or three, and I can’t wait to see what happens next in the sequel!

5stars

signature2

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to REVIEW: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

  1. I’ve seen this book a few times in my local bookstore and it’s actually the cover that throws me off lol but I’ve been meaning to read it for the longest time and now that I know it’s science-y and sci-fi I will pick it up ASAP! I thought it was a lovey-dovey romance novel!

  2. HOLLY says:

    I love when books turn out to be as terrific as their covers! I’ve been thinking about reading this one for a while, but now that I know how great it is I’ll definitely bump it up on my TBR list. Great review! :)

  3. Quinn @ Quinn's Book Nook says:

    I love this cover, too. I’m not sure if I want to read the book, because I’m not sure it’s my kind of story, but I’m so glad that you loved it so much.

    • Merin says:

      I know you don’t usually go for sci-fi, either, so I can understand your hesitation. The science is important, but it was the characters that made the book for me personally. :)

  4. Briana says:

    I had basically the opposite reaction. :) I wished the science had been a bit more thorough. There seemed to be a lot of hand-wavy announcements that, “Um, this concept is difficult to explain, so we’re not going to bother!” Which is frustrating to me as someone who is actually interested in science, in spite of the fact that I study literature. But I do think that if this book were marketed almost exclusively as a romance, instead of as romantic science fiction, I may have had different expectations.

  5. Pingback: February in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

