Waiting on Wednesday #106

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley  (HarperCollins):

magoniaNeil Gaiman’s Stardust meets John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars in this fantasy about a girl caught between two worlds…two races…and two destinies.

Aza Ray is drowning in thin air.

Since she was a baby, Aza has suffered from a mysterious lung disease that makes it ever harder for her to breathe, to speak—to live.

So when Aza catches a glimpse of a ship in the sky, her family chalks it up to a cruel side effect of her medication. But Aza doesn’t think this is a hallucination. She can hear someone on the ship calling her name.

Only her best friend, Jason, listens. Jason, who’s always been there. Jason, for whom she might have more-than-friendly feelings. But before Aza can consider that thrilling idea, something goes terribly wrong. Aza is lost to our world—and found, by another. Magonia.

Above the clouds, in a land of trading ships, Aza is not the weak and dying thing she was. In Magonia, she can breathe for the first time. Better, she has immense power—and as she navigates her new life, she discovers that war is coming. Magonia and Earth are on the cusp of a reckoning. And in Aza’s hands lies the fate of the whole of humanity—including the boy who loves her. Where do her loyalties lie?

[ADD TO GOODREADS]

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

Okay, this one just sounds epic and amazing and awesome. And the gorgeous cover doesn’t hurt either, nor does the comparison to Stardust. Honestly, I’m having a hard time putting into words WHY I want to read this book. Can I just say that it might just have that intangible thing that draws readers to it? Because that’s definitely what it’s doing to me!

Release Date: April 28, 2015

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #106

  1. It’s definitely the comparison to Stardust that appeals to me so much. And that COVER! So creative. I love anything with a feather on it.

    Great choice Merin!
    My WoW

  2. thebigfatf says:

    Magonia sounds like such a special book! And I’m so excited about it. I emailed Harper Collins for a review copy but unfortunately they had none left. :(

  3. I read about this on EW I think and then forgot the title before I could go add it on goodreads. I love the cover, it’s so gorgeous! Great pick!

    Denise @ Dandelionn Wine

  4. Such a pretty cover!

    i’ve heard some mixed reviews among those who got an ARC.

  5. paperjasmine says:

    This is on my tbr too! Looks awesome woo

  6. Oooh, this one looks great! It seems like a unique YA read and I need more of those in my life. I just added it to my TBR. :)
    Here’s my WoW!

  7. Just put it on my wishlist and TBR. Waah! It sounds amazing! :)

  8. christine says:

    This book is so perfect for me! I love it when the heroine saves the world!! But seeing that it was lie TFIOS i’m pretty scared with the ending.

  9. lipsyy says:

    Oooh this does sound good!

  10. scarletbella says:

    As soon as I read Stardust I was hooked! I was lucky enough to get a review copy but still haven’t found time to read it :( I think I may have to change my schedule and read it sooner rather than later!

    My WoW!

  11. Kai says:

    I was so excited when this book appeared on my radar last week… the premise definitely sounds unique and that cover is so gorgeous! Great pick!

    Here’s my WoW pick!

  12. Oh! I’m so excited for this book! It sounds so interesting and I love that cover! Great pick this week :) Check out my WoW:

    Crystal @ Books Unbound

  13. Oh, this sounds awesome! I can’t believe I haven’t heard of it before this. Also, that cover is absolutely gorgeous. Nice pick!

    Here’s my WoW!

  14. Marsha says:

    I have seen this, and want it so badly. It went on my TBR within seconds of seeing that cover.

    My WoW this week

  15. Elin says:

    This sound like an fascinated book. Love the cover :)

  16. Emilie says:

    I love the cover of this one and it sounds like a unique read!

    My WoW

  17. Pingback: February in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

