State of Merin

stateofmerin

Wow, how is it already February 12th? January flew by, or at least, now that it’s over it felt like it did. It’s funny how you never feel like time’s moving fast when you’re in the middle of things. Just last week I had to print my students’ progress reports, because the end of the quarter is coming up in just a few weeks. I feel like I just DID report cards, so I’m definitely not happy that it’s already around the corner yet again.

Speaking of school and time flying, we actually celebrated our 100th Day of School last week! Here’s a picture of me in my 100th Day crown (that my students also made and wore):

100thdaymeForgive the tiredness and frizzy hair; this was taken at the end of the day, after I had to stand out in the sleet and scrap off my car. :)

Anyway! January was a good month blogging wise for me, and February has continued in this same vein. I noticed a definite uptick in my reading compared to the previous month – I read four books as opposed to only two in December – and I’ve already read two books thus far in February, with three others (an audiobook, an e-galley, and an anthology) in progress. So I’m definitely feeling pretty good about my reading overall. I’ve also managed to keep to my blogging schedule, posting content when I intended to and not slacking off. I’m still oftentimes tired when I get home from work – my kiddos are awesome but exhausting – but I’ve still been managing to squeeze in at least a little reading time most nights.

Other things taking up my time right now are my Professional Development Plan and Unit of Instruction that I’ve had to complete with my grade-level teammate as part of our District Evaluation, learning the new Phonics program, and starting our Opinion Writing Unit in Writing. Yep, all of those are work-related, because that’s pretty much what my life consists of right now. I can’t wait until I’m tenured – only two more years! – so that I won’t have to worry about all the paperwork that new(er) teachers have to deal with!

So that’s pretty much all that’s been going on. Lots of reading, lots of work, lots of being tired. Pretty much par for the course during the school year!

signature2

 

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to State of Merin

  1. Pingback: February in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

