Merin’s Musings #9: On Read-A-Thons

musingsbanner

It’s been a long, LONG time since I’ve done a Merin’s Musings topic, but this one has been brewing for a while in my head, so I decided to finally write out my thoughts. So, let’s get started.

Read-A-Thons: Yay or Nay?

I am usually wholeheartedly in the “yay” category myself – I sort of feel like most of the bookosphere tends to be – so instead of just taking a vote and moving on, I sort of wanted to get into the whys of exactly what it is about read-a-thons that makes people want to participate. For me, personally, it’s not about the potential prizes or daily challenges. It’s more about trying to read more than I would usually do in a set period of time, or just trying to actively carve out time in my week devoted to reading. As a general rule, I don’t do a lot of reading during the week, particularly during the school year when I am teaching 20+ six year olds five days a week. When I get home from work I just want to decompress, and – as much as I love reading and immersing myself in fictional worlds – it’s not my usual go-to relaxing habit. I’d much rather watch mindless TV or tool around on tumblr.

So, for me, read-a-thons give me that extra push to choose an evening activity that’s different from my norm. If I’ve set a goal to read three books (which is my usual goal for week-long read-a-thons), I know I’m going to HAVE to do some reading during the week in order to meet it. I also like the idea of other folks out there trying to read for the same goal – to finish a book, or read a certain number, etc. Read-a-thons make me feel actively engaged in the bookosphere, and that in turn makes reading more fun. There’s just something about knowing that there are others out there participating in the same event that gets me excited and more interested in sharing my own reading progress.

I also love seeing bookish updates – photos on Instagram, tweets on Twitter, or nightly updates on Tumblr. And I like sharing my own. There’s something awesome about getting a like or a comment on a picture, and it helps make things even more fun, at least for me personally. I also like that posts of that type help hold me accountable; people ask me how I’m doing, or if I’m liking a book, or tell me they’ve read it and can’t wait to see what I think when I finish. That makes me want to stay with it, and keep reading so I can ultimately share my thoughts on it; which is, of course, the goal of any book blog that posts reviews.

So talk to me about read-a-thons! Do you participate in them? What aspects draw you in? Which read-a-thons are your favorite? Give me all your read-a-thon feels!

signature2

This entry was posted in Merin's Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Merin’s Musings #9: On Read-A-Thons

  1. HOLLY says:

    I feel the same way! I love read-a-thons in theory, but I’ve only actually participated in one or two before because I just don’t have the time to sit down and read for days on end. I’m really hoping that I have more time this summer to read so I can finally properly do some more read-a-thons! Great discussion post!

    • Merin says:

      I find that read-a-thons tend to take place at not so great times for me, which means I can’t participate in as many as I’d like to. I’m hoping Sarah at Trees of Reverie will host her July read-a-thon again, because I will be off work and able to read to my heart’s content.

  2. CKReads says:

    I feel the same way! It definitely gives me a sense of community and support. I hope to participate in a lot of the summer since I get busy during the semester and there are never seem to be week long ones then

  3. I haven’t participated in a read-a-thon yet, but I love the idea of them. It seems like it’s never convenient for me to participate so far! The points you make about why you love doing them, make me even more eager to participate – I could really benefit from pushing through my TBR pile and it’s always fun to be a part of the bookish community. Great post!

    • Merin says:

      I hope you’re able to participate in one soon! I know last year Sarah at Trees of Reverie organized a July read-a-thon, which would be perfect for me because I won’t be back to work yet. Hopefully she does that again this year!

  4. Pingback: June in Review + Upcoming in July | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

