REVIEW: The Wondrous and the Wicked by Page Morgan

wondrousandthewickedThe Wondrous and the Wicked (The Dispossessed #3) by Page Morgan
Delacorte, 2015
[Goodreads] [Book Depository]

Previous Installments: The Beautiful and the Cursed | The Lovely and the Lost

NOTE: Summary contains spoilers for the previous books in this series.

The Waverly sisters must save themselves before all is lost.

Since the Waverlys arrived in Paris, the streets have grown more fearsome by the day. As Ingrid learns to master her lectrux gift, she must watch Axia’s power grow strong enough to extend beyond her Underneath hive. By all indications, the fallen angel’s Harvest is near-and the timing couldn’t be worse.

Targeted by vengeful gargoyles, Gabby has been exiled to London for her own protection. Meanwhile, the gargoyle castes are in disarray, divided between those who want Luc to lead them and those who resent him and his fondness for humans. The Alliance is crumbling from the inside as well, its members turning against one another, and possibly against the Waverlys, too.

Axia has promised that the world will burn. And now, unable to trust the Alliance, separated from Luc, Gabby, and her twin, Grayson, Ingrid is left to face the demon uprising alone.

mythoughtsThe Dispossessed series by Page Morgan is – in my opinion – one of the lesser known, under-appreciated series in the YA Paranormal genre. I absolutely adored the first two books in this series, and couldn’t wait to read the final installment. What I love the most about these books is that – aside from the awesome atmospheric descriptions and the historical setting with a paranormal twist – they all feature some truly kick-ass female lead characters. Ingrid and her sister, Gabby, are strong-willed and determined, while still embracing their femininity. Then you have Chelle, who as a member of the Alliance is good with weapons and wears men’s clothing. And yet, she, too, has a softer side to her, which comes out a bit more in this book. I just love how fully developed and well rounded all of the girls are in these books; it just makes everything else I loved about this series even better.

I want to avoid spoilers as much as possible, so I’m going to keep things very brief. This book amped up the action tenfold. There wasn’t a single chapter where something important didn’t happen, which kept me eagerly invested and turning the pages. I loved how determined Gabby was to figure out a way to help her sister, I loved how Ingrid refused to back down from finding Grayson, and I loved how much Luc simply LOVED Ingrid. I even didn’t mind the sort-of love triangle involving Ingrid because she so clearly had one guy in the forefront. I also loved the twists and turns with the angel mythology, which took the story in unexpected directions. And the between-the-lines relationship between Rory and Hugh was likewise fantastic. I know that I’m doing nothing but raving madly in this review, and I apologize for that, but seriously, THIS BOOK. So much love. ♥

The Wondrous and the Wicked was everything I wanted in the final book of this amazing series. My emotions were all over the place, as the story moved to its conclusion, and I came out at the end full of feelings and with a huge smile on my face. For those of you who have read the first two books in this series, you NEED to go read the final one right now. And for those of you who haven’t read this series at all, well – what are you waiting for?

4.5stars

signature2

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

