Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday post actually reminds me of one we did a while ago where we talked about books we’ve never read that we feel like everyone else has. For the most part, I actually do read quite a lot of “hyped up” books, although there are some that I have no intention of reading. This list is a mix of the two – ones I want to read, and ones I don’t want to read. So, here we go!

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

ttt88banner

faultinourstars

1) The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (+ any other John Green book)
I feel like I’m being weird with John Green, but … I just have no interest in reading his books. I’ve looked a couple of times at An Abundance of Katherines and Paper Towns, but this one – the one that literally is hyped EVERYWHERE – has never once gained my interest.

catchingfire mockingjay

2) Catching Fire/Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
The Hunger Games – for me – was BRUTAL. I know that’s the point, but I just … can’t bring myself to read the rest of them.

divergent

3) Divergent (and sequels) by Veronica Roth
Another series that I’m just NOT interested in. I have no intention of ever reading these books.

delirium

4) Delirium (and sequels) by Lauren Oliver
Since I actually own the first two books in this series, I do intend to read it. You know, at some point.

girloffireandthorns

5) The Girl of Fire and Thorns (and sequels) by Rae Carson
Another series I plan on reading, mostly because a friend of mine really enjoyed it. And I’m pretty much always interested in YA fantasy titles.

clockworkangel clockworkprince clockworkprincess

6) The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare
I own the first two of these as well, so will probably get to them eventually.

aristotleanddante

7) Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Definitely going to read this one. I just need to prepare myself before I do.

acrosstheuniverse

8) Across the Universe (and sequels) by Beth Revis
I’m so torn on this series. On the one hand, book one is on my Goodreads To Read list. And yet … I’m kind of not interested? I dunno.

annaandthefrenchkiss

9) Anna and the French Kiss (and companion novels) by Stephanie Perkins
I know, I know. I am probably the only person in existence who hasn’t read this book. I do want to, and yet, I keep passing it over for other things. Maybe it’s because of the hype? So many people adore this book (as well as Lola and Isla) that I’m worried it’s not really all that great.

ifIstay whereshewent

10) If I Stay/Where She Went by Gayle Forman (+ all other Forman novels)
I actually own these two, and I THINK I have Just One Day on my Kindle, and yet have never read any of them. I do plan on it, because I’ve heard amazing things about Gayle Forman’s writing, but just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

So that’s my list this week! Which titles made your list? Please link me in comments!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

  1. Across the Universe is really good! The rest of series is fine but the first book really surprised me :)

  2. Great list! Anna and the French Kiss made my list, too. I have read The Fault in Our Stars, but I have no interest in reading any of John Green’s other work, and I also have no real interest in reading anything by Cassandra Clare. I also DNFed Divergent and while I did read Across the Universe it didn’t leave me with any desire to finish the trilogy. Basically it seems like there’s a lot of hyped books I don’t like. :P

    I really enjoyed Delirium, but personally I think it should have been a standalone; I really didn’t enjoy Pandemonium and Requiem. I don’t read a lot of YA contemporary but I really enjoyed If I Stay, I still need to read Where She Went, though! :)

  3. signourney says:

    I am the same with John Green. I’ve looked at them, but I never pick them up.

    I’d really recommend The Infernal Devices, much better than the Mortal Instruments. Anna and the French Kiss was cute, but not too special.
    And I’m really curious about Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.

  4. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I have Delirium on my list too!! I totally keep meaning to read that series but, gah, I don’t know what happens. I just never get around to it. >_< I recently read Girl of Fire and Thorns and afjdskla if you love fantasy, it's a REALLY unique and refreshing one. I barely ever finish series, but that one is definitely one I'm after. XD
    Here’s my TTT!

  5. Greg says:

    I’m kinda with you on John Green, although Paper Towns interests me a little (after I saw the film trailer, I must admit). I did enjoy the Lauren Oliver book I read, but haven’t read any others- yet, anyway. And Divergent- yeah I wasn’t interested for the longest time, eventually did read it, but liked the movie more (which is unusual for me!). Have a great Tuesday!

  6. HOLLY says:

    I haven’t read a lot of these books, either. I go in and out of phases with YA books, and at the moment I’m more into reading classics and nonfiction. Great list! :)

  7. Aristotle and Dante is FANTASTIC. Prepare yourself quickly.

  8. beckmank says:

    No desire here to read Hunger Games or Divergent either. :) I have Aristotle & Dante and Anna on my list TBR. I’ve heard great things about both books!

  9. literaryitsathena says:

    You aren’t missing out with TFIOS, personally I didn’t enjoy the book one bit! It’s definitely over hyped. I’m a little curious about Anna and the french Kiss, but I have a feeling I won’t like it and have a cloud of disappointment hang over me. I recommend giving the Infernal Devices a shot though, it’s an amazing Shadowhunter world. I prefer it over Cassandra Clare’s other series the Mortal Instruments.

  10. Emma says:

    I can understand why you would be reluctant to read TFIOS but it is a good read especially because it takes on a sensitive subject, its kind of like a “life goes on enjoy it” kind of vibe- for me anyway! Of course it’s sad but I loved the characters a lot.

    I haven’t read any of the others but the Aristotle one I keep seeing everywhere :p

    Here’s my TTT if you would like to check it out :D Have a great day :-)

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

