NEW FEATURE: Merin’s Mid-Week Musings #1

midweekmusingsbanner

I mentioned in my Upcoming in July post that I was searching for something new to do on Wednesdays on my blog, as I’m burned out on Waiting on Wednesdays, which has been my go-to meme since my blog started back in 2012. After looking around and not finding anything currently running that piqued my interest, I decided instead to start doing a mid-week wrap-up type thing instead of a meme. This post is inspired by Musing Mondays over at A Daily Rhythm and her previous WWW Wednesday meme, which has been discontinued.

From now on, on each Wednesday, I will do a brief wrap-up of my reading in the last week, and then also post about one other topic that’s caught my attention. Knowing me, those topics will be quite random – because that’s how my brain works – but hopefully you’ll at least enjoy reading about them!

So, here we go: My very first Mid-Week Musing!

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

booksread

cress betweenthespark

currentlyreading

darklight

discussion

Beverages! What’s your favorite thing to drink while you read? For me, it depends on the time of day, but my two go-to’s are usually flavored lattes (if it’s morning/afternoon) or water if it’s later. Of course, I have to make a concentrated effort to drink my coffee before it gets cold – because yuck (unless I’m having an iced latte) – so it’s not always conducive to being a reading companion.

What about you? Tell me in comments, please!

signature2

This entry was posted in Mid-Week Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to NEW FEATURE: Merin’s Mid-Week Musings #1

  1. Was Between the Spark and the Burn good? I read Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea a while ago and I’ve been conflicted about reading the sequel? Is it with it?

    • Merin says:

      Oof. I am not a good person to ask, because the entire SERIES leaves me conflicted. I think, overall, I did like it, mostly because of the tension and uncertainty in the prose, and the overall atmosphere. But Violet is just so DUMB sometimes – much like she was in the first book – and it started to really get on my nerves. But overall I’m glad I read it, just so I could see how it wrapped up, although I will warn that the ending is kind of open and ambiguous, so. If that bothers you I’d recommend skipping it!

      • Thanks! That helps actually because that was how I felt about book one. I’m not sure but I’m planning on rereading the first book soon anyway so that might help me decide if it’s worth it.
        Thanks again :)

  2. Yay for Cress! I’m a tea with honey drinker in the morning. Sometimes in the afternoon or evening (moreso during winter). And I also love water and Arnold Palmers in the summer.

    • Merin says:

      Cress took me a STUPIDLY long time to finish. I was listening to it on audio for the first half – which took forever in and of itself – but finally just switched to the book so I could get it finished.

      And I am a weird book blogger, because I can’t STAND tea! It’s so weird – my mom loves it, but I can’t even handle it getting near my mouth!

      • Quinn @ Quinn's Book Nook says:

        Don’t worry about not liking tea. I HATE coffee. Seriously, I can’t even stand the smell when it’s brewing. Oh and coffee grounds are the worst! yuck! :)

      • Merin says:

        I don’t drink drip coffee, I’m more of a flavored latte girl. Gotta have flavoring (and milk) to drown out the coffee taste! :)

  3. I hope you’re enjoying Darklight! Wondrous Strange is one of my favourite series!

    I don’t normally drink anything when I read because I read first thing in the morning as soon as I get up. If I’m reading outside in the summer, I drink water (boring I know) or iced tea or lemonade (whatever I have in the fridge).

    • Merin says:

      I’m not too far into Darklight as of yet – need to do some more reading on it this evening – but I am enjoying it! And water’s not boring at all! I have a thing of it sitting right next to me as I type this. :)

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

