Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity/Diverse Characters

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday post asks us to list ten books that celebrate diversity or diverse characters. I have to admit, I had a lot of trouble putting this list together, which just means I need to do better in that regard. So I only have eight books on the list, and most of them deal with characters with mental health issues. If you have any recs for me that would be considered diverse, please share them in the comments!

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

ttt90

ocdthedudeandme

1) OCD, The Dude, and Me by Lauren Roedy Vaughn

akatawitch

2) Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

bornconfused

3) Born Confused by Tanuja Desai Hidier

absolutelytruediary

4) The Absolutely True Diary of A Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

averylongengagement5) A Very Long Engagement by Sebastien Japrisot

stepfromheaven

6) A Step from Heaven by An Na

butterflyclues

7) The Butterfly Clues by Kate Ellison

trinkets

8) Trinkets by Kirsten Smith

NOTE: I do own a few books with LGBTQ characters (Aristotle and Dante, and Everything Leads to You come to mind) but haven’t read them yet, so didn’t put them on the list, as I only wanted to list books I’ve actually read.

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

So, that’s my list this week! What titles made yours? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity/Diverse Characters

  1. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian is such a good pick. I can’t believe I didn’t think of that one. I do have Born Confused (another great read) on my list as well though.

  2. I want to read AKATA WITCH ever since seeing Nnedi at a Book Con panel!! I haven’t heard of a lot of these and will have to look them up!

  3. Amanda says:

    Interesting list! The first book especially grabbed my attention.;)
    My list: http://amandanicolle.blogspot.com/2015/07/take-ten-books-that-celebrate-diversity.html

  4. LOVE Alexi and An Na! They both have such great books that are full of diversity. Born Confused is one I have wanted to read forever but I never seem to get to. Great list. Happy reading.
    Top 10 @Libby Blog

  5. The ABSOLUTELY TRUE DIARY should be required reading for human beings. I have ARISTOTLE AND DANTE on my list. SO, so good. Read it. Anne’s Top Ten

  6. What a great list! I haven’t read most of these, but I’ve added them. :)

    My TTT

  7. Awesome list! I share the love for Sherman Alexie’s title- just fantastic. I must admit that I haven’t read most titles you’ve listed- will have to add some to my TBR :) Also: Everything Leads to You is, I think, so lovely- love Nina LaCour’s writing is just so beautiful.

  8. ChrissiReads says:

    Trinkets looks intriguing! I think I’m going to have to check it out. :-)

  9. Great list! Akata Witch sounds wonderful. :)

  10. readerbuzz says:

    Part-time Indian was an eye-opener for me.

    Here’s my Top Ten!

  11. signourney says:

    Great list! I’ve been hearing good things about Akata Witch.

  12. Sherman Alexie is one of my favorites and I didn’t think to put hm on my list. How dare I? Great list :)

  13. I completely forgot about OCD, the Dude and Me! Excellent choices!

  14. I’ve heard only good things about Sherman Alexie! I NEED to read The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian. Check out my TTT if you’d like :)

  15. I’ve seen Akata Witch on a few lists this week. I’m going to have to check it out. Great list!

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

