State of Merin :: August 2015

stateofmerin

And it is with today’s State of Merin post that I bid adieu to my Summer Break! I will be officially back to work in three and a half hours (as I scheduled this to post at 5am my time), where I will be reporting for a Pep Rally-type thing to usher in the start of the new school year (and hear from our new superintendent), and then shall be ensconced in my classroom to start getting ready for the new school year. Back to School night is on Monday, so I have lots to do and not much time to do it in!

I did very little since my last State of Me update. I spent July watching lots of old episodes of Supernatural, reading some books, participating in a read-a-thon, attending a St. Louis Cardinals’ game, and – in personal news – also attended my Grandpa’s funeral. He passed away on July 18th from cancer at the age of 90, so he had a good life, and I’m glad he’s not in pain anymore. Also now he can be reunited with my Grandma, who died in 2002, and whom he always called “the love of his life”. RIP, Grandpa! ♥

In work news, I am up to 19 kiddos in my class thus far. I fully expect to have more – we always get several that are new to the school each year – but just hope the number doesn’t get astronomical. It’s really hard to make sure everyone gets what they need and provide the necessary support when you have a huge number of students. But we shall see! I have been thinking about ways I can redo my classroom to accommodate more students, but of course am limited by the actual four walls and necessary furniture. And I won’t know if my idea will work until I start moving furniture around, either. But I’ll definitely have that sorted by the end of the day today.

Anyway, that’s really all for me this month! Not too much terribly exciting going on, but with work starting back up next month’s update should be a bit more exciting.

I wish you all a very happy August!

signature2

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to State of Merin :: August 2015

  1. Pingback: August in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

