State of Merin :: September 2015

stateofmerin

Hello, September! It’s hard to believe it’s the start of another month. Today is the 19th day of the new school year, and already there have been lots of changes that have definitely impacted things in my everyday life. Before this week, I was up to 28 students in my class – which is WAY too many, and also over the state limits – so thankfully the district decided to help us out and open up a third section of first grade in our building. So this past Tuesday, I went from 28 students to 18 students, and WOW has it made a huge difference! I’m no longer QUITE as tired after work, and feel like my kiddos can actually learn and work quietly and accomplish things. I was seriously wondering how I was going to get anything done with that many students, and it was causing a lot of stress for me as I waited (im)patiently for the district to make their decision, and just think things will be a lot better from now on.

The tiredness and stress of working with that many kiddos definitely impacted my reading last month; I was expecting my total number of books read to drop from July, but not quite as much as it did. I just had NO energy to do anything except come home and veg out with mindless TV; even reading was too exhausting! Hopefully I can pick it back up this month, although I’m not feeling much of a pull to read my current book, so may scrap it and try something else to see if it goes better. I already have trouble balancing work and reading so really don’t need to slog through a book I’m not currently interested in!

In non-book and non-work news, I have been watching the US Open – I’m a huge tennis fan – and am rooting hard for Serena Williams to complete the calendar Grand Slam. I’m also cheering on my local St. Louis Cardinals as we make another push for the playoffs, so it’s kind of been all sports, all the time around here. I find that watching sports gives me a chance to relax – for the most part – so tend to have that on my TV in the evenings instead of trying to watch an actual TV show. But, Supernatural starts up again in October – it’s my one and only currently airing show – and I’m excited to see what’s next for Sam and Dean. Also, I bought pumpkin yogurt AND pumpkin coffee creamer, so am really ready for it to cool down and turn into fall. Also, Halloween!

I hope the month of August treated you well! ♥

signature2

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to State of Merin :: September 2015

  1. Pingback: September in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

