MINI-REVIEW: Insidious by Dawn Metcalf

insidiousInsidious (The Twixt #3) by Dawn Metcalf
Harlequin Teen, 2015
[Goodreads] [Book Depository]

Previous Installments: Indelible | Invisible

NOTE: Summary contains spoilers for the previous books in this series.

True evil is rarely obvious. It is quiet, patient.

Insidious.

Awaiting the perfect moment to strike.

Joy Malone finally knows who she is, where she comes from and how to live in two worlds at once. And now she can introduce her family and friends to her mysterious boyfriend, Indelible Ink. But when Ink’s twin sister, Invisible Inq, calls in a favor, Joy must accept a dangerous mission to find a forgotten door between worlds—a door hiding a secret that some will kill to keep.

Unseen enemies, treasonous magic and an unthinkable betrayal threaten both the Twixt and human worlds as Joy races to expose an ancient conspiracy and unleash the unalterable truth—some secrets cannot remain secret forever.

fivethoughtsaboutbanner

insidious

  1. I am a big fan of this series, and Insidious was no different. However, this book was long, drawn out, and sort of unnecessarily complicated in some parts, which ultimately dropped my rating.
  2. Joy continues to be stubborn and strong, and I liked that we got to see more of her interactions with her family, particularly her brother Stef. I did not like her jealousy over Ink’s relationship with another lady, however, and felt like it was rather ridiculous that she’d even think he might be cheating on her. It’s pretty obvious how he feels about her, especially at this point in the series!
  3. I find fairy etiquette fascinating, and loved that we got more of an up close look at it. I loved learning right along with Joy the dos and don’ts.
  4. While I continue to love Ink a whole, whole lot, I was not as fond of Inq in this installment. I hated that she kept a secret from her brother (pretty much out of spite, too, and also to manipulate his reaction once he found out), and also that she tried to use Joy for her own ends and means.
  5. The ending was kind of surprising and abrupt, so I’m definitely looking forward to seeing how everything comes together in the last installment!

FINAL THOUGHTS: This was a good set-up for the final book, although I personally don’t feel like I enjoyed it quite as much as I did the previous two. Still should be an epic ending, though!

3stars

signature2

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

