Top Ten Bookish Settings I Love to Read About

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic gave us some choices to work with, but in typical fashion I decided to kind of do my own thing, since I couldn’t come up with ten that fit the prescribed categories. All of them revolve around the setting of the book, though, so that’s what I’m going with. So here are my Top Ten Bookish Settings That I Love to Read About!

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

ttt102

1. Space Ships

I have a HUGE thing for books that take place on space ships, probably because of my love for all things Star Trek. Illuminae is my most recent favorite, but I also loved These Broken Stars, even though that wasn’t so much on a space ship as an abandoned planet, but. Same difference, right?

2. Historical European settings.

Think Paris or Russia or London. Whatever it is, I am ALL about it. Current favorites include Soulless by Gail Carriger, The Beautiful and the Cursed series by Page Morgan, and the Czarist Russia portion of A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray.

3. Early 1900s America.

I am particularly fond of headstrong girls who want equal rights or at least realize things are wrong with the way the world currently works, and ladies like this tend to be prevalent in books set in this time period. Current favorite is These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly, although I also loved Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard.

4. Scottish Highlands.

So, this primarily stems from my fondness for those stupid romance bodice ripper novels. I kind of have a soft spot for the rough and tumble Scottish man sweeping his unsuspecting girl off her feet. With bonus rolls in the grass of the Scottish highlands. I’m not even going to apologize!

5. Fairy Tale settings.

There’s so much to love about the whimsical worlds found in fairy tale retellings. I love the glimpse of magic – that’s usually so commonplace – found throughout the world, and also love me some princes and princesses. I guess it’s the whole “happily ever after” that I actually love the most!

6. Magic.

This ties in directly with #5, but I love worlds with magic. Whether it’s worlds where people do magic, or just simply worlds where magic is openly apparent, I am all for them. Favorites include Harry Potter (duh), the Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo, and Ordinary Magic by Caitlen Rubino-Bradway.

And that’s all I’ve got! Even with doing my own thing, I still couldn’t come up with ten. Oh, well!

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

So those are my choices this week! Which settings to do love to read about? Please link me in the comments!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Top Ten Bookish Settings I Love to Read About

  1. ChrissiReads says:

    I love fairytale and magical settings as well! <3 Great choices.

  2. bftreviews says:

    i love that you put spaceships on here! Good choice!
    My TTT

  3. I love spaceships too! Have you read the Across the Universe trilogy by Beth Revis? That is set on a spaceship and is soooooo good! Early 1900s America sounds interesting.
    I really like fairy tale retellings and magic too. I just read the Lunar Chronicles last year and LOVED them! Great list this week, happy reading! :)

  4. Oooh, I just finished THESE SHALLOW GRAVES. It’s SO good. It really made me appreciate how much freedom women have these days. I can’t imagine living in a time with so many restrictions. Yikes.

    Happy TTT!

  5. Emma says:

    Great picks Merin, I wish I had thought to do magical, fairytale a spaceship settings- they would be awesome! Although being on a spaceship would be number one for me :-) Here’s my TTT @ Emma’s Bookery if you would like to check it out, have a great day :-) xo

  6. Oooo…I like spaceships too. Like Across the Universe. One of my fave series. Great choices!

  7. I love historical European settings as much as you do! I find the history of those countries (though particularly France, England and Ireland) fascinating as all heck ;)

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

