Follow Friday #2

To join in the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

*(Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee and Alison Can Read}
*(Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
*Put your Blog name and URL in the Linky Thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
*Grab the button and place it in a post; this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
*Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just  follow: comment and say hi! Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”.
*If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love … and the followers.

Question: If you could “unread” a book, which one would it be? Is it because you want to start over and experience it again for the first time? Or because it was THAT bad?

If I could unread a book, it would probably be Twilight, but not for the reasons you’re probably thinking. I am going to be upfront when I say that, when I initially read Twilight (and New Moon), I devoured them like they were chocolate; I could not put either of them down. It wasn’t until I’d finished and really thought about them that I realized just how problematic they were. But even THAT isn’t why I wish I could unread it.

My reasons for wanting to unread are simple: since the release of Twilight and its sequels, SO. MANY. BOOKS have been released that follow the same type of plot, include the same type of characters, the same type of relationships, etc. Reading Twilight has made me realize just how derivative many YA paranormal romance books are nowadays, and honestly that just makes me sad. If I hadn’t read Twilight first, I could ignore the sameness of much of today’s YA, and most likely would have enjoyed some of the YA paranormal titles I’ve read more than I did because I was constantly seeing the similarities.

This does not mean that I wouldn’t have noticed them eventually – I mean, come ON – but I would have been able to bury my head in the sand for a bit longer. :-P

If you’re interested in following me, you can use any method you’d like, although I’m partial to Linky Followers. If you have a WordPress blog, however, please use the little “follow” link in the upper right-hand corner! :)

This entry was posted in Follow Friday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Follow Friday #2

  1. Patti Smith says:

    I too am a little worn out by the Twilight plot showing up in so many YA paranormals :( and I’m a YA fan. I’ve just kindof stopped reading them until my oldest daughter tells me there’s one that’s worth my time :/

    • Merin says:

      Yeah. I cannot even tell you how many times I’ve been reading something and seen some sort of Twilight similarity. It’s really disheartening to see all these books coming out that don’t really have the type of unique fresh ideas that I really want to see, or that you’d expect.

  2. Aliraluna says:

    Hi you have just won the liebster award come here to see the rules :) congrats
    http://www.thingworlds.blogspot.com/2012/06/liebster-award.html

  3. It is true. Some books you like and open the door to genres you never expected to like before. I think Dr. Who did that to me – even though it’s not book related – the genre of aliens and space wasn’t as bad anymore, though I am still picky.

    • Merin says:

      Yes, definitely! I don’t necessarily regret reading Twilight, because I believe it’s important to stay up-to-date on the literary trends, and Twilight played a huge role in that.

  4. Good point and I agree. The gigantic hype that Trylight had created just makes me cringe.
    Thanks for stopping by!

  5. GREAT answer! I read the first 3 Twilight books and afterwards thought “What have I done?” I would still read the first just to educate myself about something that was popular and to have an intelligent argument in the Twilight discussions that invariably appear around the internet BUT I wouldn’t read the other 2 if I could do it over.

    And you’re exactly right about all the derivative YA paranormal novels of the moment.

    My follow friday. Hope you visit! New linky follower.

    • Merin says:

      I read the first two only. I started Eclipse, but the characters were making me so mad with their various manipulations that I skipped to the Jasper chapter (which I loved; Jasper is seriously my favorite character ♥), and then read the end. :)

  6. I agree, I love Twilight but the same plot in other books does get old , I like uniqueness to the plots something fresh and exciting.

    New Follower

    My FF

  7. Kim J. says:

    I enjoyed Twilight also but you make a very good point here! I try not to compare too many books with Twilight though and it hasn’t been too much of a problem for me so far (: haha.

    – Kim
    My FF

  8. I hear ya! There are many books that follow similar patterns that I have found, and sometimes I wish I would have read this series before that one so that I could like it more because it has *this*. So I understand where you are comin from!

    Thanks for stoppin by! Following back via Twitter.

    Your blog is super cute. I will be visiting again! =D

  9. Roxanne says:

    I like your answer, agree with your reasoning. That’s why I think Anne Rice is the original vampire creator (aside from Bram Stoker, that is). Everything else seems like a sort of a copy.

    • Merin says:

      She’s definitely the first I can think of off the top of my head who used vampires in her books, so I can definitely see where you’re coming from!

      Thanks for stopping by! :)

  10. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #8 | Read and Reviewed

  11. Kate says:

    Hi, sorry I’m late to the hop! love the blog and followed on NB and Linky. I would love it if you could check out my blog: http://readingunderthewillowtree.blogspot.co.uk/

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.