Waiting on Wednesday #39

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for Doll Bones by Holly Black (Margaret K. McElderry):

dollbonesZach, Poppy and Alice have been friends for ever. They love playing with their action figure toys, imagining a magical world of adventure and heroism. But disaster strikes when, without warning, Zach’s father throws out all his toys, declaring he’s too old for them. Zach is furious, confused and embarrassed, deciding that the only way to cope is to stop playing . . . and stop being friends with Poppy and Alice. But one night the girls pay Zach a visit, and tell him about a series of mysterious occurrences. Poppy swears that she is now being haunted by a china doll – who claims that it is made from the ground-up bones of a murdered girl. They must return the doll to where the girl lived, and bury it. Otherwise the three children will be cursed for eternity….

ADD TO GOODREADS

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

I adore Holly Black’s books, even though I am behind and haven’t read any of her Curse Breaker series. It also sounds like something my students might like (these are those kids who go with their parents to the rated-R Horror films and then come to school and tell me all about them the next day), and would help to fill a hole in our collection. This story sounds fabulously creepy, and, even though I don’t always go for creepy, I have faith that Holly can do it justice and make it a very satisfying read. In fact, I’ve already preordered this one from Amazon!

Release Date: May 7, 2013

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

newsignature

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #39

  1. Lucy says:

    This does sound like a creepy read. Dolls that come to life totally scare me, and especially that this one is made up of the bones of a murdered girl. Eek!! I am looking forward to hearing what you think of it.

  2. Quinn says:

    I have only read one Holly Black book – Tithe. I liked it. I really want to read her Curse Workers series.

    • Merin says:

      I’ve read all of the Tithe series, and think the third one is my favorite. I’ve also read her Spiderwick Chronicles books, and the sequel series as well. I really enjoyed them! She’s pretty much an auto-purchase author for me; I haven’t read anything of hers that really disappointed at all.

  3. Oh this author is talented I hear. Great pick. I’ll give it a go once its released.

  4. Oh I can’t wait for this one either! Holly Black is one of my favorite authors and this sounds so dang good! Great pick. :)
    My WoW Pick!

    • Merin says:

      Thanks! She’s pretty awesome, so I’m sure it will be great. I’m also really looking forward to The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, which is her take on vampires!

  5. Elle says:

    This sounds seriously good! :D I think I’ll check it out once it’s released!
    Thanks for stopping by my WoW :)

  6. Krista says:

    Oooh – I have a serious fear of animated dolls haunting me! I love Holly Black and will have to read this, but with the lights on!
    Krista @ Breathe In BooKs
    Check out my WoW

  7. Great choice, I preordered this months ago as she’s one of the few authors I buy without knowing anything about the book! This one sounds delicious and ! just want to read it now, no more waiting!

    My WoW!

  8. Awesome pick for this week! Happy Reading! Here is my WoW for this week!

  9. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #40 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.